Pass the Hat, volume I

Hello Everyone,

     My name is Christopher Chase and I am the owner of The Noise Floor LLC, a multi-studio recording facility in Dover NH. As most of you are surely aware at this point, the 2020 Coronavirus pandemic has had significant impacts on the arts communities at large, but most significantly on gigging musicians. It has been about a month's time since all the gigs locally, regionally and nationally have been cancelled for everybody, and there is no immediate or predictable end in sight. Some venues and festivals are optimistic that they may host live music or concerts at some point this summer, others are predicting a fall return for live events, and yet other's foresee 2020 as a complete wash. Needless to say, there are a lot of professional and semi professional musicians currently out of work and having a hard time making ends meet for themselves and their families.

   So after a few weeks of quarantine time in my studio, many sleepless nights and seemingly endless conversations with many of my clients, friends and family members about the fate of our community, I've come up with a small way that I can help give back to some local musicians in need.  But I am going to need your support to make this a reality. 

Pass the Hat, volume 1 is a massive 50 track compilation, showcasing 50 different  performing artists and bands that call the greater seacoast area of NH and ME their home. Around half of the contributing artists here are past or present clients of The Noise Floor.  The other half is comprised of friends and acquaintances from the local scene  as well as several  folks that I have never worked with, seen live or even met in person. 

25 of these artists generously donated their songs to this compilation, to rally around their own community of fellow musicians and to help raise the stakes of this project, for you, our community contributors. the other 25 of these artists are folks who need some financial help during these unfortunate times. This compilation includes over 20 unreleased studio recordings, pulled from records that were slated for a spring or summer 2020 release, before the pandemic shut things down for everyone. 25 contributors captured unique, at home, quarantine performances of new material. The remaining  songs come from previously released studio material, most of which came out at some point in 2018 or 2019. 

My goal here is to raise a minimum of $5,000 for the 25 artists in need of financial support at this time. To do this, I am seeking donations of any shape or size, as anything and everything is truly appreciated here. Contributors of $25 or more will be receiving a digital download of the Pass the Hat volume 1 compilation, once this 30 day campaign has completed.  Expected release date will be May 16th. Everyone will be emailed a one time use, digital download of high quality WAV audio files for all 50 songs. We will be sending duplicate files as MP3's as well, for those that wish to have smaller file sizes. See the list of the our 50 contributors below. 

 

As the pandemic continues to play a part in all of our daily lives, I anticipate the need for financial assistance within the arts communities will remain for some time. I have received a huge response already from our community about this project. From additional artists looking to donate songs to our next volume, to resources or time as well as those humbly coming to me for some financial support. I have called this compilation Pass the Hat volume 1 as I anticipate follow up volumes in the months to come. But all of this hinges on the success of this first campaign. Please help me in reaching this goal together, for our community. Please share this campaign with your own NH and ME networks and communities. If you have any questions or input, feel free to contact me directly or post comments here. Thank you for helping to keep our diverse musical community feeling support and heard during these unfortunate time.   

Christopher Chase.           thenoisefloorllc@gmail.com  https://thenoisefloornh.com 

Pass the Hat Volume 1 artwork generously created by Roland Nicol  https://rolandlefox.com 

Please look through our list of contributors, follow their links to hear some of their other musical releases as well as supporting them directly by purchasing any of their music that speaks to you.

*indicates an unreleased studio production

Jenna Paige Sarno *                             https://jennapaigesarno.bandcamp.com/
Slack Tide  *                                               https://slacktideofficial.com/
Bob Halperin
Erin's Guild                                              http://www.erinsguild.com/
Ellisa Margolin *                                      https://elissamargolin.bandcamp.com/
Nick Rolser                                              https://nickrolser.com/
Eric Ott  *                                                      https://ericottmusic.bandcamp.com/
Peter Squires                                          https://petersquiressongs.com
New Norde  *                                              https://newnorde.bandcamp.com
Kate Redgate  *                                         https://kate-redgate.com/
Curt Hanig                                                 https://curthanig.bandcamp.com/releases
Jim Rioux                                                    https://burstandbloomrecords.com/artists/jim-rioux/
The Kenny Brothers Band *                https://kennybrothersband.bandcamp.com/
Guy Capecelatro III                                https://burstandbloom.bandcamp.com/album/the-feeling-of-falling
Red Tail Hawk  *                                          https://redtailhawk.bandcamp.com/
Patrick Curry of Wellfleet                  https://wellfleetmusic.com/
Adam Wade
Eric Fernald 
Chris Sink                                                  http://chrissink.com/
Nickie Fuller and Bill Benoit (The Hush Darlings)      https://www.facebook.com/The-Hush-Darlings-319290338958384/
Dave Gerard of Truffle                       https://gerardtruffle.com
Johanna Landis                                       https://johannalandis.com/
Scott Solski of Trade  *                          https://www.tradethebandnh.com/
Marjorie Senet                                        https://marjoriesenet.hearnow.com
Don Erdbrink  *
Dean Harlem                                           https://deanharlem.bandcamp.com/
Brian Walker  *                                         https://brianwalkermusic.com/
Bitter Pill  *                                                 https://bitterpill.bandcamp.com/
Yamica Peterson                                    http://msyamicapeterson.com/
Jon McCormack's Paintbox             https://paintbox1.bandcamp.com/releases
Amanda McCarthy                               https://amandamccarthy.bandcamp.com/
George Brown                                         https://georgebrown1.bandcamp.com/
A Different Engine                                https://www.adifferentenginemusic.com/
Half Moon Jug Band  *                          http://halfmoonjugband.com/
Frenzie                                                         https://frenzie.bandcamp.com/
The Grim Bros   *                                     https://thegrimbros.bandcamp.com/releases
Dan Walker   *                                           https://danwalkermusic.bandcamp.com/
Jim Dozet   *                                              https://jimdozet.bandcamp.com/
John Lessard
Nick Mainella *                                     https://www.nickmainellamusic.com/

Lukas labrie
Weird Turn Pro                                  https://weirdturnpro.bandcamp.com/
Amulus   *                                                https://amulus.bandcamp.com/
James R. Gray                                    https://www.jimmygraymusic.com/
Chris Decato                                      https://chrisdecato.bandcamp.com/
Joe Young   *                                          http://joeyoungmusic.com/
Sal Hughes                                          http://www.salhughes.com/bio

Max Grazier *                                       https://maxgrazier.bandcamp.com/

Kong Moon   *                                     https://kongmoon.bandcamp.com/

Doug  *                                                     https://dougpunk.bandcamp.com/

Donations ()

  • Jesse Dold 
    • $50 
    • 5 d
  • Anonymous 
    • $20 
    • 6 d
  • Michael Boyd 
    • $20 
    • 6 d
  • Anonymous 
    • $25 
    • 7 d
  • Marjorie Senet 
    • $25 
    • 7 d
See all

Organizer

Chris Chase 
Organizer
Dover, NH
  • #1 fundraising platform

    People have raised more money on GoFundMe than anywhere else. Learn more

  • GoFundMe Guarantee

    In the rare case that something isn’t right, we will refund your donation. Learn more

  • Expert advice, 24/7

    Contact us with your questions and we’ll answer, day or night. Learn more