Helping cover medical transition & rent

Why I'm fundraising?

It has taken me a lot to get over the fear of setting this up and asking for help to be my true self, it has been a long time coming and I hope you will read this.

Hi, my name is Emily. I am 24 years old, and currently transitioning (male to female). I've been transitioning for a little under 18 months  now. The current waiting time list is currently at another 18 months which for me personally is something that is an unbearable thought for me. I have been slowly but surely coming out since October 2017 and it's a very long, slow and hard process. I have been socially transitioning ever since  January 2018, currently I study at the University of The Arts London;London College of Communication where I attend as myself and I am accepted as being me.

I've always have known something was never right with me growing up and ever since I was 17/18 I knew that I had to do this to be happy and be myself. My mental health while transitioning has been and up and down hill struggle dealing with everything else as well as all of the dysphoria that I deal with daily seriously negatively affects me and is making life harder for myself and living this way doesn't feel good at all.While starting my transition socially things have eased thing a little but it doesn't feel great waking up some days and still feeling trapped in a body that doesn't feel like my own. I'm trying to raise money on here to be able to go privately and start my transition sooner and be who I feel I was meant to be.

The money I am asking for will go towards set up fee for the gender clinic, blood tests, the prescriptions I will have and then blockers which I have been told I need to take in conjunction to the hormones. I will post and update receipts of all of the things that the money go towards and provide updates hopefully regularly. 

Thank you if you chose to donate and help me during this time, I can't thank you enough if you help me during this. This is something I've been waiting for, for such a long time now and I really need to do this to be me and be happy.


SO UPDATE:

I went to the gender clinic for an appointment and found out that I have another 12-18 month wait and it is just unbearable I feel crushed and just defeated by this and I really don’t want to deal with this anymore it’s just painfully slow. I just now so more feel that I can feel every fibre of my being every second of the day I just feel my body is not me or mine and just struggle on through.

It’s been about 2 years now of waiting for the waiting time of the Gender Identity Clinic, it’s an agonising wait for any trans person and sadly the only way for things to be done now is seemingly going through the private sector of health care so that is what I am now continuing to try and do. It means the world to me for people reading this Another update: So things aren’t progressing at all despite the long wait and it’s continuing to be painful in terms of mental health and the comfort in my own skin. I’m unable to work now given world events and it’s making my depression one of the lowest points I’ve ever personally been in. UPDATE: Change. I wanted to post an update and say why the amount for my fundraising had changed. I had to increase it because I had to include the price of rent because I am dangerously close to having nowhere to live and nowhere else to go, I am already beyond grateful at what people have given already, but I have become more desperate. Along with this my mental health has just taken a nose dive off a cliff because of the stress of the lack of money and my impending live situation

Wanted to add another update; (22.08.20)

I'd like to thank everyone who has helped out by reading, sharing and donating to my funding so far, I wanted to tell everyone what I'm wanting to do in the future, once I complete the goal with most of it going towards my transition I will start that side of things and begin saving for ffs (facial feminisation surgery) that will be my next goal to save for and then further down the line will go towards my top surgery and confirmation surgery, those aren't for a long time yet.

I am in the mean time though going to keep trying to work on this goal, so please if you aren't able to donate do not stress about that but please if you could share this post, it would mean the world to me

Donations

 See top
  • Anonymous 
    • £5 
    • 4 d
  • Rose Huby 
    • £50 
    • 21 d
  • Darlene Deschamps 
    • £35 
    • 25 d
  • James Joseph 
    • £10 
    • 1 mo
  • Savannah Boyd 
    • £40 
    • 1 mo
See all

Organizer

Emily Rose 
Organizer
London, Greater London, United Kingdom
  • #1 fundraising platform

    People have raised more money on GoFundMe than anywhere else. Learn more

  • GoFundMe Guarantee

    In the rare case that something isn’t right, we will refund your donation. Learn more

  • Expert advice, 24/7

    Contact us with your questions and we’ll answer, day or night. Learn more