Help a young single Aboriginal mum to be

Hi everyone, I am a young single Aboriginal woman expecting my first baby in early September. This year has been emotionally and financially distressing due to Covid-19 and personal relationships.

I lived remote working as a casual teacher’s assistant. During the Covid-19 pandemic when the NT Government announced community lockdown restrictions this became a financial strain. Food delivery from mainstream stores became limited and prices in local stores were extremely expensive. All while being pregnant during this time it became difficult to plan and start purchasing baby essentials. Financially I became stressed and lived paycheck to paycheck. During this period my partner at the time became unemployed. 

As of May I relocated from Borroloola to Darwin to be closer to medical facilities, family to build support and get the help I need during my pregnancy. The move forced me to quit my job and solely rely on Centrelink as an income. This has been difficult as I can only access JobSeeker as a payment which requires me to attend compulsory employment agency appointments. To add more stress Centrelink has decided to manage my payments and unwillingly put me on a BasicCard. This has resulted in my pay becoming half of what I originally got and the other half being inaccessible on a card. I will not have access to the BasicCard until September after my payment claim switches to Family Tax Benefit. 

In my final trimester of pregnancy this has become a physical and mental strain. I rely on public transport to get me to Berrimah (Employment agency location) from Casuarina which is tiring. Since being diagnosed with Gestational Diabetes it comes with major fatigue as a symptom which makes it harder to get to these appointments. It has also become a struggle managing Antenatal appointments, Centrelink appointments and my birthing classes. As both my antenatal and Centrelink appointments are inconsistent and make weekly planning difficult. This also makes transportation a difficult access as I rely solely on public buses.

I have set this fundraiser up to help me financially stable myself. I have recently gotten my learner's permit but due to payment deductions I cannot afford the lesson package. For 10 lessons it will cost $650, I aim to get as much lessons in before bub is due as I will be a full-time single mum and learning time will be limited. I also essentially need a good quality pram to transport bub after birth. It will take 6 months until I can get my provisional license which means I will be relying on public transport after birth. The pram I will need has to be universal meaning capable to suit a newborn but changes as bub ages.

Any donation helps and will be much appreciated by both me and bub, this makes me shame asking but in a difficult time I am taking the courage to step up and ask for help.

Thank you to all who donate or share this xx

Donations

 See top
  • Emma Devin 
    • $30 
    • 1 mo
  • Anonymous 
    • $30 
    • 5 mos
  • Ruaela Rusch 
    • $20 
    • 5 mos
  • Karen Batten 
    • $60 
    • 5 mos
  • Phoebe McIlwraith 
    • $45 
    • 5 mos
See all

Organizer

Diane Derrick 
Organizer
Coconut Grove, NT
  • #1 fundraising platform

    More people start fundraisers on GoFundMe than on any other platform. Learn more

  • GoFundMe Guarantee

    In the rare case something isn’t right, we will work with you to determine if misuse occurred. Learn more

  • Expert advice, 24/7

    Contact us with your questions and we’ll answer, day or night. Learn more