2
2
2

My Transition

$20 of $2,300 goal

Raised by 2 people in 4 months
Soo....where to start? Well, my name is Kristi, I am 36 and a Canadian.  My story is a fairly long one, but I'll try to shorten it.  Over the last 6 or 7 years, I have toyed with the notion that I may be a trans woman.  I went to a few drop-in counselling sessions and even told a few friends about it, but denied it and kept it buried.  However, last summer, I finally decided to let myself explore the idea and really think it through.  Since then, I have come out to more people and have even put my name down at a clinic here in the city that helps people like me transition.  As of 2 weeks ago, I had my first appointment with them and have nothing but good to say.  The people were excellent, attentive and caring.  It also felt good to be called by my preferred name (Kristi) the entire time.  Among other things, I was also asked why I was wanting to do this.  To transition.  It took a few moments, but my honest answer was, "For me. I am doing this for me." 

I want to add that I still do have moments where I am unsure about all this. I have described it to my therapist and friends as a tug of war.  At times, I strongly desire this and want to become the woman I feel I am. Others times, I have thoughts that challenge me on it and try to tell me this is a bad idea or wrong. When I have mentioned this to others I have always gotten the same response, which is just go slow. And that is what I am trying to do. Just taking it one step at a time. But, I do have moments where I just NEED to feel cute, feminine and pretty and strongly. In those moments, I will either try to buckle down and just ride it out, or find something that I can do that will help with those feelings. This is also why I am happy to have been provided with free counselling through the transition program and for my friends both online and offline that have helped me, guided me, and supported in all this.  I also have found myself being treasuring and being encouraged by the small things, such as being called beautiful and pretty by friends, getting hugs (which, for those who don't know, I loooove to get and give), and just getting general words of encouragement.  I also have been meeting up with another trans friend who is currently further along the path then me.  I will not go into detail, but her updates and our get togethers have really given me hope, encouragement and things to look forward to.

So,  where does that leave me at?  Well, I honestly still want to transition and become the woman I feel I really am.  I have been on hormones for 3 months now, however, there is small problem. I am unemployed.  I am and have been looking for work, but so far, nothing.   And that can makes things rough.  I am blessed with friends that have been helping out with some clothes, hormones and emotional support.  For that, I am very very thankful.  But, there is still a lot of ground to cover.  So, without further ado, here the list of what I need:

Clothing (I do have some, but right now, around 90% of my wardrobe is still masculine)
Funds to change the gender on my ID ($60)
Funds to change my name on my Id (around $150)
Flight to and from Montreal to get GRS (which can vary per season but is currently around $1000; flight cost does get reimbursed by government, though)
Other essentials (undergarments, makeup, skincare, etc.)

The GRS surgery itself, along with top surgery (if I so chose), laser hair removal (for the face) and vocal therapy are all covered by the government.  That I am thankful for.

So, in total, how much am I looking to raise?  As it stand, right now, I'm looking to raise $2300.  I know it can seem like a lot, and if you can't contribute, than this is completely ok and I understand.  I don't want anyone to feel guilty or bad for not helping.  Honestly, friendship and support are great helps too.   However, if you can, please pass this fundraiser along as I want to get the word out.

To everyone, thank you for taking the time to read this and I wish you an awesome day!
+ Read More
Edited my story a little bit. I have almost finished paying the $100 deductible for pharmacare, but I really could use some clothes, makeup, etc.
+ Read More
Just a quick update. I have officially started hrt!! Yayy!!! My first day was Thursday, March 28. Felt so good to finally begin transitioning! :) On the down side, I still have not found employment. I have been and am continuing to look, but nothing so far. On the upside, I do have enough funds to be able to afford hrt for three months. The pills, so far, cost around $40/month and atm, it is being paid out of pocket. Once I land a job, I plan on applying for a person health care plan to help cover the expenses of transitioning.

I also want to add that I do plan on getting my adam's apples shaved and as it is not covered by the government health care plan, I will have to pay out of pocket for it. I don't know the full cost of it yet, but will let you know once I do.

Also, a big big thank you everyone who has been helping support me, however that may be, during this whole thing. It's really appreciated! :)
+ Read More
Read a Previous Update

$20 of $2,300 goal

Raised by 2 people in 4 months
Your share could be bringing in donations. Sign in to track your impact.
   Connect
We will never post without your permission.
In the future, we'll let you know if your sharing brings in any donations.
We weren't able to connect your Facebook account. Please try again later.
KL
$10
Katy Lees
3 months ago
BB
$10
Bijou Baybee
3 months ago
or
Use My Email Address
By continuing, you agree with the GoFundMe
terms and privacy policy
There's an issue with this Campaign Organizer's account. Our team has contacted them with the solution! Please ask them to sign in to GoFundMe and check their account. Return to Campaign

Are you ready for the next step?
Even a $5 donation can help!
Donate Now Not now
Connect on Facebook to keep track of how many donations your share brings.
We will never post on Facebook without your permission.