Working towards my dream career

My name is Mandi Ward, I am 22 years old. This past may I graduated from the University of Kansas with a Bachelors degree in Behavioral Neuroscience (this is the study of the brain's relationship to behavior). It is my dream to go on to grad school and work my way through the PhD program and become a neuropsychologist to help any and all individuals. Education has been something that I have always loved and worked extremely hard at. 
Let me start at the beginning. I have always been the kind of person who wants to stand out in the crowd. I began dancing at the age of 2 and pursued that all the through college as it has been one of my biggest passions growing up. I joined the cheerleading team in junior high and continued with that from 7th grade to 9th grade. Once in high school, I discovered there was a dance team and tried out and made the team. I enjoyed being on the dance team because not only did we perform for the sports teams and compete, but we were also very involved with the community. We participated in a lot of volunteer work and put on many fundraisers to help our community. I was also a member of the National Honor Society and Beta Club. My time spend in these clubs were also put to good use in helping the community. From food drives, to volunteer work, to fundraisers we were always finding new ways to get involved. At this same time I also was able to manage my time enough to maintain an A average all the way through high school and graduated at 17/500 in my class. As I was involved in sports and clubs, I didn't have much time left over for a job. However, as soon as summer hit and I had the time to work I got a job. Really wanting to go to college and receive the degree I mentioned earlier, I did what I could to get to get financial help as this very degree was offered at an out of state school with an incredible program. During my college career, though very difficult, I was able to manage a job, keep an A/B average, be a part of clubs, and be on the University dance company.  I was also able to finish college in 4 years when technically I was looking at a 5 year degree. Unfortunately, with minimal funds, an absent biological father, and a struggling mom and step dad, I was forced to apply for student loans. Doing what I had to do to get my degree, I now sit with an unbelievable amount of debt. Utilizing my degree, I am working a full time job; however, am still unable to pay for the loan and living expenses.  With my type of degree, in order to apply my knowledge to its fullest potential, I need to go on to grad school and work my way up to the PhD degree. In the mean time, I need some help to take care of the student that sit between me and accomplishing the goal of receiving my PhD. Any funds that I receive will go directly towards those student loans and let me further my education. My dream is to be able to work with individuals who need the kind of neurological help that a neuropsychologist can provide. This could be anyone from a brain injury even to veterans with TBI or PTSD. Your most appreciative donation would allow me to put my degree to good use with people who deserve this kind of help. There is no donation too small, everything I receive will move me a step closer to my dream of helping people. Thank you so much for taking the time to read my story and know that I am extremely grateful for any assistance that you may be able to provide.

Donations

  • Vic Ward 
    • $70 
    • 3 mos
  • Angelique Ward 
    • $60 
    • 14 mos
  • Anonymous 
    • $300 
    • 19 mos
  • Victoria Ward 
    • $40 
    • 27 mos
  • Angelique Ward 
    • $100 
    • 28 mos

Organizer

Mandi Ward 
Organizer
Scottsdale, AZ
  • #1 fundraising platform

    People have raised more money on GoFundMe than anywhere else. Learn more

  • GoFundMe Guarantee

    In the rare case that something isn’t right, we will refund your donation. Learn more

  • Expert advice, 24/7

    Contact us with your questions and we’ll answer, day or night. Learn more