Shekinah's Service Dog and Sidekick

Hello, I'm Shekinah Perkins. I'm 20 years old and have had four unexpected  heart surgeries in the last year. During my first year in college at UAF I began to notice that my heart beat was both erratic and escalating. While walking through both the initial discovery process and medical procedures necessary, things became much more complex than initially anticipated. We've  Discovered there are three separate electrical difficulties with my heart. My doctor has recommended that I get a service dog to help me move toward a life with greater independence and safety. My service dog would offer assistance with balance, notifying me in advance to take medication, retrieving medication if I'm unable to get to it, keeping me safe by an action of "blocking" until emergency personal are able to get to me in an emergency etc. We've been fortunate to find a service dog that has all of the foundational training needed and will now need specialized training in cardiac assistance. I'm working with her now (Lady Shox) and we're hoping to raise funds to help with continued training, and to help cover the initial cost to purchase Shox (we are making payments as funds become available) If you would consider donating to help cover these expenses , I would be so greatful. Having Shox for the short time we've been together has made an amazing difference for me, and I appreciate every day that I have with her❤️

Donations ()

  • David and Heather Edgren 
    • $10 
    • 20 mos
  • Charlie LaForge 
    • $200 
    • 26 mos
  • Arnold Trigg 
    • $100 
    • 27 mos
  • Anonymous 
    • $200 
    • 27 mos
  • Rob & Tricia Brown  
    • $100 
    • 28 mos
See all

Organizer

Shelli Hice Perkins 
Organizer
Wasilla, AK
  • #1 fundraising platform

    People have raised more money on GoFundMe than anywhere else. Learn more

  • GoFundMe Guarantee

    In the rare case that something isn’t right, we will refund your donation. Learn more

  • Expert advice, 24/7

    Contact us with your questions and we’ll answer, day or night. Learn more