Selena's Transition Fund

Hey Y’all:

 My name is Selena Kaylie Pelkey and I am 24 going on 25 years old.  I took that name in 2015 when I first came out as transgender.  I’ve made a lot of progress since those baby gay days. Almost nobody knows my old name anymore and if they do they don’t use it. It’s been a rough 5 years, but I came out the other side.

 When I hit puberty, I began to realize that I was different.  I didn’t fit in with the guys and I tended to play with the girls and their toys.  Who would have guessed those were clues, huh?  But the behavior led to some bullying. Both from teachers and students. I stopped talking, got into fights, faked my way through Catholic school until I got out.  I made some friends, but none that I ever committed to. And my anger streak followed me into highschool. My parents were so worried, I went to therapy, saw school counselors, but seemed to sink deeper into anger, depression and anxiety. I even tried to join the army just to give myself some sort of purpose. Then, I met Erin, who introduced me to the LGBTQ community and gave me a place where people couldn’t usually fit in, managed to gain a community.  I learned about transgender as a concept for the first time and what that meant.  And what it meant to me. Thanks to Erin, I came out to my mother just after my 18th birthday and, fortunately, she was completely supportive. Together we figured out where to go from there and how to take the first step.  It took almost a year to find a therapist who would provide the letter I needed to start hormone therapy. The first therapist I went to told me I wasn’t “trans enough”. I’ll never forget how much I cried over that.  Now though, I have been on HRT for 5 years and, while I still struggled with mental issues for a long time, I have finally come to be about as comfortable as I can be with myself.  

 After giving it literally years of thought, I’ve decided to seek reassignment surgery.  I live in Texas, and this is not an easy place to be trans.  I’m lucky to be loved and have lots of emotional support around me, but, as many of you may know, that doesn’t fix everything.  My body, despite the years of hormone therapy, continues to be a major source of emotional stress and pain for me.  And so, with risks and warnings in mind, I have decided to forge onward towards a new goal.  However, getting the body I will be most comfortable with won’t be cheap. And so I’m extending a plea for help. 

 Right now, this is a rough estimate. I’ll update the price as I go through the process of consulting with doctors. 

 
Bottom surgery: 5200~

Top surgery: 3000~

Recovery Housing/travel: 2000~

The estimated costs: 10200~

Donations

 See top
  • Elisabeth Miller 
    • $100 
    • 6 d
  • Anonymous 
    • $20 
    • 6 d
  • kiki Watson-scruggs  
    • $25 
    • 6 d
  • Alexander Hancock 
    • $20 
    • 9 d
  • Anonymous 
    • $75 
    • 10 d
See all

Fundraising team (2)

Selena Pelkey 
Organizer
Raised $35 from 2 donations
Carrollton, TX
Autumn Bunnyfox 
Team member
  • #1 fundraising platform

    People have raised more money on GoFundMe than anywhere else. Learn more

  • GoFundMe Guarantee

    In the rare case that something isn’t right, we will refund your donation. Learn more

  • Expert advice, 24/7

    Contact us with your questions and we’ll answer, day or night. Learn more