Main fundraiser photo

Reconstructing Ravyn: fundraising for gender affirming care

Donation protected
My name is Josh and I’m running this fundraiser for my dear friend Ravyn. Please join me in helping Ravyn become more themself!

My friends call me Ravyn, my niblings call me Gray, and most of the rest of the world makes me uncomfortable by calling me by my legal name. I’m used to feeling discomfort because as long as I can remember I’ve been uncomfortable in my own skin but didn’t quite know why. I was labeled as a tomboy as if that was supposed to explain why I felt more comfortable in male spaces. I never quite felt right as ‘one of the girls’ and I didn’t even realize people felt attached to their assigned gender until my late thirties because it was something I had never experienced. I finally got the missing pieces to the puzzle when I read the book Gender Queer by Maia Kobabe.

I have talked about wanting a breast reduction since I was teenager, but once I realized completely removing them was also an option I felt even better.

The total costs will be about $17,000 – that’s $14K for the surgery and $3K for the cost of ensuring I have the support I need before, during, and after the procedure. I want to raise as much as possible by July 21st, as the entire amount is due on August 2nd.

Those of you that know me know my struggles with my health. I am disabled. I have Postural Orthostatic Tachycardia Syndrome (POTS), Chronic Fatigue Syndrome (CFS), Fibromyalgia, and probably EDS (I have EDS skin according to my last rheumatologist, though it hasn’t been confirmed). My health has improved a little the past couple of years, and surgery might actually cause a major setback for me, but I’m prepared to take that risk to feel more comfortable in my own skin. My health is the main reason I am not using my insurance to pay for this procedure because none of the doctors that accept my insurance meet all of my requirements. I need to see a surgeon close to home (just in case there are any complications), has a reasonable wait time (6 months to a year), and most importantly has knowledge about my health conditions and has successfully done several surgeries for people like me.

I have put a lot of thought into having this procedure. I was very encouraged when the surgeon I met with for a consultation at the Gender Confirmation Center in San Francisco was not only familiar with my diagnoses, but has treated many patients with POTS, CFS, and EDS before. His confidence gave me a lot of hope, but I will need help.

I need help paying for the surgery, and other necessities surrounding it such as flying my childhood best friend out to care for me for the four to six week recovery time. All donations and any words of encouragement are greatly appreciated.
Donate

Donations 

  • Anonymous
    • $15 
    • 1 d
  • Diana Kingsbury
    • $20 
    • 4 d
  • Anonymous
    • $500 
    • 4 d
  • Anonymous
    • $8 
    • 5 d
  • Anonymous
    • $50 
    • 7 d
Donate

Fundraising team (2)

Joshua R. Simmons
Organizer
Petaluma, CA
Ravyn Applebury
Team member

Your easy, powerful, and trusted home for help

  • Easy

    Donate quickly and easily

  • Powerful

    Send help right to the people and causes you care about

  • Trusted

    Your donation is protected by the GoFundMe Giving Guarantee