Paige's Midwifery Training

Hello my name is Paige and I am a Black student midwife, the great, great granddaughter of Henrietta Harris, a Granny midwife from Little Rock, Arkansas. Currently, I am living in Boise, Idaho, entering my second year of midwifery school at Mercy In Action and my second year of my required student midwifery internship at Mercy Birth Center and L'Abri Midwifery, all in Boise, Idaho.

In August of 2017, I was honored to be chosen as the 2017 Mercy In Action Grand Challenge Scholarship recipient. This $20,000 scholarship, is awarded once a year to a birth worker of color in an effort to train more Certified Professional Midwives of Color, to do our part to stop the racial disparities women of color are facing and to help end fact that we are 3-4 more times more likely to die in pregnancy and during the postpartum period, than white mothers. This scholarship award covers my 3 year tuition, housing, and food. What is does not cover is my monthly car payment, my car insurance, my monthly cell phone bill, etc.

I would not have made it this far without this scholarship and the help of my amazing village, and I’m calling on you all for help again. As I enter my primary student year, I enter a year of greater responsibility of working under my preceptors as the lead student midwife. With this greater responsibility, I will not be able to work as I have been able to during my assistant phase. Birth is beautiful, but it's also unpredictable and when a baby chooses to enter this world is too unpredictable to plan an outside work schedule around. That leaves me without the means to cover my monthly expenses, but this is also where you can play a part, to help a student midwife of color get the training she needs. Without your help to cover my monthly expenses for the next 10 months, I won't be able to financially continue with my training.

My monthly expenses are as follows:

Car Payment: $318.26 x 10 months= $3,182.60 dollars
Car Insurance: $115.00 x 10 months=$1,150 dollars
Cell Phone: $55.00 x 10 months=$550 dollars

Miscellaneous (gas, personal hygiene products, food while away from home (long home birth labors, hospital transfers), occasional get a way movie outing, coffee/tea while out studying, etc): $75.00 x 10 months= $750 dollars

Total: $5,632.60

In advance, know that I am eternally grateful to all who donates. I do not take for granted that you chose to sow your hard earned money into me. I can promise you that what you sow, no matter how big or small, will not go to waste. Thank you from the bottom of my heart for helping me to serve purpose.

Donations (0)

  • Anonymous 
    • $35 
    • 6 mos
  • Dawn Woodruff 
    • $30 
    • 7 mos
  • Blue Savannah 
    • $25 
    • 8 mos
  • Anonymous 
    • $20 
    • 8 mos
  • Brittany Hiller 
    • $100 
    • 8 mos

Organizer 

Paige Jackson 
Organizer
Boise, ID
  • #1 fundraising platform

    People have raised more money on GoFundMe than anywhere else. Learn more

  • GoFundMe Guarantee

    In the rare case that something isn’t right, we will refund your donation. Learn more

  • Expert advice, 24/7

    Contact us with your questions and we’ll answer, day or night. Learn more