Karl's Hand Controls

Hello everyone, my name is Karl Matthews. I am 25 years old and I was born with cerebral palsy, which forces me to use a walker to walk. As a result I suffer from strong spasms in my legs and constant muscle strain, which makes it a challenge to get around, but I don't let that stop me. Over the years, I have had seven surgeries to help make walking easier and a little less painful, including tendon lengthening, leg reconstruction, baclofen pump insertion, and most recently a right ankle bone fusion. Hopefully I am done with surgeries, that way I can start my journey towards full independence. I’m currently looking for assistance in purchasing Veigel Compact II hand controls for a vehicle, so I can find job placement. I thank you for taking the time to read my story. If you feel so inclined to donate, no matter how big or small the donation, it will be greatly appreciated and help ease the burden of my dad and myself.
Thank you!

Donations

  • Cheryl Jackson  
    • $10 
    • 26 mos
  • Lauren Marcinek 
    • $20 
    • 26 mos
  • Bryanna Honda 
    • $20 
    • 26 mos
  • Robert Zwalua 
    • $100 
    • 26 mos
  • E J Boyko 
    • $25 
    • 27 mos
See all

Organizer

Karl Matthews 
Organizer
Paw Paw, MI
  • #1 fundraising platform

    People have raised more money on GoFundMe than anywhere else. Learn more

  • GoFundMe Guarantee

    In the rare case that something isn’t right, we will refund your donation. Learn more

  • Expert advice, 24/7

    Contact us with your questions and we’ll answer, day or night. Learn more