Main fundraiser photo

My Fight Against Ewing's Sarcoma

Donation protected
My name is Amber, and I was diagnosed with Ewing's Sarcoma on December 27, 2017. I had just started my teaching career, something I had been working towards for as long as I can remember. Being told you have cancer is devastating, but it was equally as devastating to me to be told I wouldn't be able to work during this time. Teaching is my passion, and the class I had was amazing. It was extremely hard to leave them, but I know I need to focus on my health 100% during this time. 

I found this cancer by chance - November 10th I was getting out of my co-worker's car when my knee buckled and started to swell. I went to urgent care where they performed an MRI thinking it was a torn meniscus. A couple weeks later the doctor informed me that the radiologist believed it to be a Giant Cell Tumor, which is typically benign. When I met with my surgeon December 2nd, he said he tended to agree with that diagnosis and was actually shocked I hadn't broken my leg because it had taken up almost the entire bottom of my femur. On December 19th I went in for surgery to get it removed, and what my surgeon saw would change my life drastically. He had to send it to pathology to confirm, but he knew it was cancerous. December 27th he called to tell me that it was, in fact, Ewing's Sarcoma. 
I am currently undergoing chemotherapy, and in a couple months I will undergo another surgery to spare my limb. I will be getting a total knee replacement as well as up to 6 inches of my right femur removed and replaced with a rod. Once I'm healed from this surgery I will complete 5-6 weeks of radiation, then finish up the remaining 13 rounds of chemotherapy. Treatment is expected to take a year and 4 months total. During this time I cannot work due to side effects from chemotherapy, and how intense the treatment is.

Since I had only been teaching for 4 months, they cannot hold my job past April 19th (FMLA leave) and I am worried about paying bills. I live with my dad and sister, and I had been helping to pay for my car, my insurance, my phone, rent, and groceries. Now my dad is reduced to a single income and financially things are starting to become really tight. I am receiving some help from the Limb Preservation Foundation, but they can only help for about 6 months due to monetary limitations per person. I am only asking for what I absolutely need, and anything that remains after my treatment I will donate to help further research in Ewing's Sarcoma. 

Car bill: 2821.41 (313.41*9 months)
Car Insurance: 1146.33 (127.37*9 months)
Rent/Utilities: 2700 (300*9 months)
Groceries: 1350 (150*9 months)
Phone: 720 (80*9 months)
Everything else will be used for miscellaneous medical expenses that will come up, but I cannot yet foresee those. 

Thank you so much for your donation, anything helps!


  • Patrick Breen
    • $50 
    • 6 yrs


Amber Smith
Thornton, CO

Your easy, powerful, and trusted home for help

  • Easy

    Donate quickly and easily.

  • Powerful

    Send help right to the people and causes you care about.

  • Trusted

    Your donation is protected by the  GoFundMe Giving Guarantee.