Moving Through

Moving Through (LINKS found in text)
with former dancer of Batsheva Dance Company and Sharon Eyal's L-E-V and current member of Winter Guests 

A class for ALL to keep you dancing, sweating, and flowing while sheltering in place.

My name is Olivia Ancona. I am a professional dancer and teacher (certified in Gaga) originally from the US and currently based in Berlin. I have performed and lived all over the world, collecting many meaningful experiences with all kinds of movers.  Although we find ourselves captive inside, I invite you to reconnect with me online!  Let’s move through this isolation within our homes, working to address areas of tension and bring a sense of freedom to our bodies and spirits. 

Our bodies are intelligent, they feel and house our experiences and anxiety. But they are also resilient and filled with the potential for positive sensations.  As a professional dancer I’m used to constantly moving and am currently feeling this absence in many ways.  Let’s use this moment --whether you are craving lost classes or performances, workouts, or social dancing – to come together and exercise it out.

Although this is not a gaga class, I will draw on my gaga teachings and experiences from the past ten years.  The session will include ideas from other practices from Gyrokinesis to meditation, and will incorporate fitness and strengthening elements.  Whether you are a dancer or non-trained mover, all kinds of people are welcome to join the flow!

The classes are donation-based. It is a sensitive time for all and I appreciate that not everyone can pay to keep dancing right now.  With a lot of cancelled work for the foreseeable future, whatever funds I collect will help cover my living expenses and lost income.  It is unclear, like so many jobs, when the performing arts will get back on its feet and studios will open their doors, safely.   For now, I’ll keep dancing and shaking it out in this period of uncertainty... sharing my practices, experiences, and knowledge gained from years of dancing. Give whatever feels comfortable, and feel free to pass the word along!



TO REGISTER FOR CLASSES:
    "NEW LINKS BELOW"

Step 1)  Donate if you can. You can donate via the "Donate Now" button on this page.  Any help is    appreciated!

Step 2) Register for Monday/Fridays class here.
Register for Wednesdays class here.

Be sure to register 15 minutes before class starts, to ensure you received a confirmation email on time.  The confirmation email includes instructions to prepare for class, and the link to the session.

Step 3) Join us for class!  Once you're confirmed, you can Request to "join the meeting" at least 5 minutes before the start of class.  The 'doors' will close latest 5 minutes after the hour. 



"UPDATED SCHEDULE"


Every Monday/Friday

AT 18:00 CET Berlin time
9am PDT Portland time
Noon EDT New York time

Every Wednesday
17:00 CET Berlin time
8am PDT Portland time
11am EDT New York time

40 MINS


For Privately Guided Classes (individuals, couples, and/or families)

Tailored to you!
https://hireartists.sharetribe.com/en/listings/946856?ref=email



About Me

Olivia Ancona was born in San Francisco, however grew up in Berkeley, London, and Portland, Oregon.  After training at the Juilliard School, she joined the Batsheva Ensemble (2010-2012) under the direction of Ohad Naharin and returned to the main company in 2015.

Olivia was a founding member of Sharon Eyal’s LEV, and has worked with Mats EK, Johan Inger, Wim Vandekeybus in the Royal Swedish Ballet, Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui (Eastman), Luca Veggetti, Örjan Andersson, Bryan Arias, and Oona Doherty. She was a guest with the Tanztheater Wuppertal|Pina Bausch and Goteborg Danskompani.  In the fall of 2016 Olivia danced, acted, and coached in the film, Suspiria directed by Luca Guadagnino.
She is a certified gaga teacher and regularly teaches research/repertoire workshops and classes internationally.  She also sets Sharon Eyal’s works on companies throughout Europe. 

Most recently she joined Alan Lucien Øyen’s, Winter Guests for the creation of ‘Story, Story, Die’, with international tours in 20/21 and a new creation in the fall, hopefully!

Links to dancing!
https://vimeo.com/346594843 
https://vimeo.com/winterguests/storystorydie 
https://danceinteractive.jacobspillow.org/l-e-v/house/
  • Katrin Apel 
    • €30 
    • 29 mos
  • Anonymous 
    • €5 
    • 29 mos
  • Anonymous 
    • €25 
    • 29 mos
  • Martin Friedrich 
    • €22 
    • 29 mos
  • Casia Vengoechea 
    • €10 
    • 29 mos
See all

Organizer

Olivia Ancona 
Organizer
Berlin

Your easy, powerful, and trusted home for help

  • Easy

    Donate quickly and easily.

  • Powerful

    Send help right to the people and causes you care about.

  • Trusted

    Your donation is protected by the  GoFundMe Giving Guarantee.