Justin's Kidney & Medical Fund

My name is Justin VanValkenburg. I'm 32 and live in Saline, Michigan. When I was 18 months old, we found out that I have Juvenile Diabetes. For the last 30 years I have monitored my blood sugars and been insulin dependant. 

The Summer of 2007 I moved to Wyoming to work in the Oil Industry. As things is Wyoming slowed down, I move to North Dakota in 2010. 

In July of 2011 I was diagnosed with Kidney Failure, and was informed that I would need a Kidney Transplant. Since then I have been on Kidney Dialysis. 4 days a week I would go to the Dialysis Center and spend about 4 hours, each day, hooked up to the machine. Due to complications I moved back to Michigan, to live with my parents in the Fall of 2012. With a lot of help of my parents, I started Home Dialysis in May of 2013. Dialysis at home is more convenient, but now I have to Dialyze 5 days per week. I have my own personal "kidney" that sits in my room, next to my bed.

I know that I'm getting closer to the top of the Donor List. But now my insurance has run out and these costs are out-of-pocket. Everyone knows how high medical costs can be. So I would be grateful for any assistance that you can give me. THANK YOU VERY MUCH!

Donations

  • Blyth Wilson 
    • $100 
    • 68 mos
  • Sharla Ahmann 
    • $50 
    • 74 mos
  • austin emerson 
    • $200 
    • 74 mos
  • Donna Collins 
    • $1,000 
    • 74 mos
  • andrea finnis 
    • $20 
    • 74 mos
See all

Organizer

Justin VanValkenburg 
Organizer
Saline, MI
  • #1 fundraising platform

    More people start fundraisers on GoFundMe than on any other platform. Learn more

  • GoFundMe Guarantee

    In the rare case something isn’t right, we will work with you to determine if misuse occurred. Learn more

  • Expert advice, 24/7

    Contact us with your questions and we’ll answer, day or night. Learn more