Lou's dialysis and kidney fund

Well, I never wanted or expected to be here asking for help, but life has a way abrubtly chaning your plans sometimes. I am 37 years old and was just diagnosed with end stage renal failure to due polycystic kidney disease. I had been aware of some kidney issues but based on some bad info from doctors years ago, I was unaware that it was progressing. 

My health hit a brick wall a couple months ago and after a struggle to heal on my own, I ended up in the ER and found out the dire nature of my condition. I have since been on dialysis 3 days a week for 4 hours at a time (while waiting for a transplant). I have lost my job due to illness and I have no income or insurance. My wife is the only source of income currently for us and our 6 year old daughter. I am struggling to regain some sort of normality to my life but the truth is, dialysis is very difficult and it takes its toll on you. My condidtion varies greatly from day to day and treatment to treatment. I cannot work and have been struggling to get disability and medicare. Medical bills are coming in and dialysis costs nearly $6,000 a week. Even if medicare approves me, i will still be responsible for 20% of these bills which as of now, I have no way of paying.

Any help you can provide my family and I would be greatly appreciated. Many thanks.

Lou

  • Kate Williams 
    • $100 
    • 63 mos
  • Dru Barker 
    • $50 
    • 63 mos
  • Mitko Poposki 
    • $10 
    • 64 mos
  • margaret huskins 
    • $50 
    • 64 mos
  • Elissa Viarengo 
    • $200 
    • 64 mos
See all

Organizer

Lou Cattano 
Organizer
Lexington, SC
  • #1 fundraising platform

    More people start fundraisers on GoFundMe than on any other platform. Learn more

  • GoFundMe Guarantee

    In the rare case something isn’t right, we will work with you to determine if misuse occurred. Learn more

  • Expert advice, 24/7

    Contact us with your questions and we’ll answer, day or night. Learn more