Help Sasha Fight Leukemia

Hi! My name is Sasha. I’m 24 years old and on December 12th, 2017 I was diagnosed with leukemia. Being diagnosed with cancer was something I definitely wasn’t expecting when I went to the hospital for random bruising on my body. It came as a shock to my family, friends and myself. I spent 1 month in Scripps Mercy Hospital in San Diego doing chemotherapy and being nursed back to health. 1 month may not seem like much to others, but to me it felt like forever. It was emotionally and physically draining. The chemotherapy was intense and caused my hair to fall out as well as nausea, vomiting, and swelling.  Some of the medication caused a huge body rash on my chest, back, and face. The pic line they placed in my arm for my chemotherapy had gotten infected and caused inflammation in my bowels. 

It was a lot for me to handle in the span of one month to say the least. But it all paid off when my doctor told me I was cancer free on December 29th, 2017! I was released and went home on January 5th, 2018. I went back home and lived my normal life for 2 more months. I did and still have monthly appointments with an oncologist in my home town, Brawley CA.

Well unfortunately that’s all about to change again soon. On March 7th, 2018 my family and I went back up to San Diego to meet with a dr at the Moores Cancer Center at UCSD. He informed me the kind of leukemia I have, AML, is prone to cause patients to relapse. There is a 90% of it returning if I do not have a bone marrow transplant done. 

Which is why I am asking for help.

Once the transplant is done, I will be spending 3-5 weeks in the hospital and then I have to move to San Diego for anywhere from 3-7 months. Why you may ask? Well the recovery process is going to completely wipe me out and I’ll be dependent on someone to take of me. I also need to stay close by the hospital for appointments which will be 3 times a week for transfusions, chemotherapy, radiation, and check ups. 

Now I have a brother, Jacob, who lives in San Diego that I can stay with but it’s going to be difficult financially for him and my family. He’s a full time student at UCSD and has a part time job that barely covers his own cost of living so this situation is going to be a financial burden to help care for me. He’ll need extra financial support for bills, food, and transportation to get me to and from my appointments. 

I also have medical bills coming in that I am not going to be able to pay. My insurance was only able to cover about half of them and the rest I have to pay myself. 

I am asking for help to raise $10,000.00 to cover the cost of me living with my brother, transportation, food, and my medical bills.

Thank you for your time and support. Your help is greatly appreciated. ♡

Donations

  • Anonymous 
    • $15 
    • 24 mos
  • Lauryn Higginson 
    • $20 
    • 24 mos
  • Olivia Nelson 
    • $300 
    • 24 mos
  • Sonya Seaboy 
    • $100 
    • 25 mos
  • Talia Giles 
    • $5 
    • 25 mos
See all

Organizer

Jacob Tanori 
Organizer
Brawley, CA
  • #1 fundraising platform

    People have raised more money on GoFundMe than anywhere else. Learn more

  • GoFundMe Guarantee

    In the rare case that something isn’t right, we will refund your donation. Learn more

  • Expert advice, 24/7

    Contact us with your questions and we’ll answer, day or night. Learn more