#HELPPIXIE - wheelchair help needed

Please help fund a new electric wheelchair to help me be a mum and wife who can do things indoors and outside.

WHY AM IN GOFUNDME?

I hate asking for help, but I have to do this for my family.

For example, despite 2 pals complaints, it has taken 6 weeks for my GP and the local rheumatologist to sort out a referral for rehabilitation physio at Stanmore (national physical rehab centre). over 12 months for physio because apparently, I'm too complex for my local team. I seem to be falling in all the cracks, and it's affecting my family. This is just 2 examples of how bad it is, and why I now have huge issues with all sorts of activities.

It's affecting my ability to work - a lot of people see the chair, rather than the brains and as a school teacher, its been very difficult.

Are you willing to assist? Here is why I'm desperate enough to ask:

BACKGROUND
After years of childless, I left teaching to work for Dyslexia Action, I finally fell pregnant and an underlying condition flared. Bad management and lack of support left me now bad enough I am facing having to apply for PIP higher rate on both, and we have all heard those horror stories. This is someone who just 5 years ago was climbing trees, camping, hiking, riding horses, and doing things nearly every other weekend.
Now I struggle to manage so much, even a family walk with the 2 children under 4, is breaking my family. My husband has been badly affected by the burden of the caring. 

The irony is I have been training to be a dyslexia assessor, but the lack of help in the medical system for those with my condition, means I am now worse off than we ever expected. I was born with these conditions but is took pregnancy complications to have a huge impact on our lives.

I also have been privately supporting and funding our local sling library out of my own pocket, but without a day job, I can't do this anymore. I also don't have the chair to be able to do this either.

WHAT HELP WILL THIS GOFUNDME BE/GIVE?
I am asking for help with raising funds to get a powered wheelchair that will allow me to be the best parent I can be - both indoor and outdoor, and a hoist to help load it into and out of the car so I don't damage myself further. 

It also will fund some additional equipment such as a bath chair, as the Social Services OT seems to have disappeared and no help is forthcoming that way. I know its unlikely I will get enough to do all the below, but this is my end target!

In overview:
* an electric wheelchair that will work both indoors and out - allowing us to have family walks and to join things as simple as baby groups, etc - improving life, and mental health for the whole family £3200
* to reduce the burden on my husband and my almost 4-year-old older son. Priceless!
* to provide other equipment to help regain what I possibly can - which may allow me to use my manual wheelchair in the house without further damage. £1000 (bath specialist seat £300)
* an electric hoist for the car £1200

WHY AM I NOT GETTING OTHER HELP?
My main conditions are ones that are severely underfunded hEDS, fibro, dyspraxia, Irlens. I have support from some professionals such as my talking therapist, my Health visitor, but there's nowhere they can refer me to that is there to help people like myself/ I 've tried looking into all charities that support people like myself, and there just isn't the ones yet I have found.

THANK YOU FOR CONSIDERING SUPPORTING US
Thank you for reading this, and being willing to consider supporting my family. My eldest child is realising the difference and how unhappy mummy is, and as I see the impact this is having, on myself, my husband and our two much loved and very precious boys, I have to fight more. I have supporting evidence from my health professionals, and I hope that this fight will lead somewhere positive.

I'm trying to fight, I'm trying to 'get busy living'. can you assist us in this?
#helppixie2018

If you cant help with money - can you help by sharing this where others may see it?

 

EDIT1: I am overwhelmed by the love and support of all those who helped me reach my original target of 3.5k (the wheelchair) (many, many heartfelt thanks!)- I forgot to allow for GMF fees, and the hoist.... hence the increase to 4.5k  (I plan to raise the rest through sales (see FB hashtag if you are in RG14 postcode) and this should mean I can fully fund everything :)

Donations

 See top
  • Anonymous Donor 
    • £1,000 (Offline)
    • 35 mos
  • FB Buggy Sales 2 
    • £50 (Offline)
    • 36 mos
  • FB Buggy Sales No 1. 
    • £65 (Offline)
    • 36 mos
  • FB Sales (Conenctas) 
    • £200 (Offline)
    • 36 mos
  • Diana (Fb) 
    • £10 (Offline)
    • 36 mos
See all

Organizer

Pixie Lindsey Scorer 
Organizer
Newbury, ENG
  • #1 fundraising platform

    More people start fundraisers on GoFundMe than on any other platform. Learn more

  • GoFundMe Guarantee

    In the rare case something isn’t right, we will work with you to determine if misuse occurred. Learn more

  • Expert advice, 24/7

    Contact us with your questions and we’ll answer, day or night. Learn more