Help Andres go to college in the UK

Hello! I am Andres Martin, I come from Venezuela and I live in Spain. 

Why am I doing this? Well, first of all, I have always dreamt about becoming a scientist. My parents are biologists, both of them, and they've taught me the beauties of nature and all that has to do with Science. Growing up in Venezuela made me realize that I would have to study abroad in order to achieve all my goals and be successful. 

One day, I was searching videos on YouTube and discovered a channel called Periodic Videos. Next thing I know is that I have watched all their videos and crave for more, developing my interest towards Chemistry as a major.

When I moved to Spain, I realized that the UK was the best investment for my future, and after some research, I knew that I wanted to study Chemistry, preferably at Imperial College London, one of the most prestigious universities in the UK and in the world. 

Ever since then, I cannot stop being amazed at all the applications and importance of Chemistry, regardless on the small scale at which most experiments are first developed.
 
When I was little, my parents enrolled me in an after-school English course, for me to learn the language of the future. Then I studied in an American-Venezuelan school called Colegio Simon Bolivar II, where my GPA was about 4.7-4.8 (out of 5). I lived in Venezuela until we could stand the situation no more, so my family and I decided to move to Spain. Here, I enrolled in a British School called Canterbury School of Gran Canaria. 

Changing educational systems was was hard but vastly rewarding. Not only I met new friends and experienced new cultures, but I had the chance to grow personally and academically. 

I am very interested in all the scientific subjects, such as Chemistry (96%), Maths (89%), Further Maths (90%), Physics (91%) and Biology (89%). I am also interested in Languages, that is why I speak Spanish as my first language, English as my second, and French as my third.

I believe music is necessary for everyone. I play the guitar and flute, and learned independently how to sing and play the piano.

Regarding sports, I practiced Karate since I was little, but then I left because of an arm fracture. I also like athletics, and running competitions is what I love the most.

In class, I like helping others when they do not  understand something. I find it recomforting when I make people understand things by themselves, without me being the one who gives them the answers.

Having moved to Spain has meant a serious economic challenge for my parents, both that have opened online Etsy shops to sustain our family here. Naturally, they want to give me the best opportunities in life, and we believe that the UK is the cheapest and best answer.

That is why I have come here to ask for help. I have read some stories of high schoolers who publish their story  in hopes of receiving help. So here is my story, and I hope it is enough to show you of how grateful I would be if I were to go to college in the UK because of you guys out there. I know I am asking for a lot, but with little donations, and the participation of everybody, I believe everything is possible


PD: all the money given, will be stored in an account in USA, and will be saved to be used when, hopefully, I get to go to college.


Thank you for your time!
  • Ayuramy Alcala 
    • $100 
    • 64 mos
  • Anonymous 
    • $280 
    • 78 mos
  • Maria Diaz 
    • $40 
    • 85 mos
  • Fernando Martin 
    • $30 
    • 85 mos
  • Fernando Martin 
    • $250 
    • 85 mos
See all

Organizer

Andres Martin 
Organizer
Fort Lauderdale, FL
  • #1 fundraising platform

    More people start fundraisers on GoFundMe than on any other platform. Learn more

  • GoFundMe Guarantee

    In the rare case something isn’t right, we will work with you to determine if misuse occurred. Learn more

  • Expert advice, 24/7

    Contact us with your questions and we’ll answer, day or night. Learn more