My student needs FOOD, HOME, and a JOB!

Hello everyone!


In 2016 I was a teacher at Miami High where I met this student, Dennis.

Dennis never spoke in my class, he was quiet and reserved. I would call on him to respond to class discussions and he would just shrug his arms. Then one day, someone insulted a student in my class that had autism, and for the first time ever Dennis spoke up to defend the student. I got to know Dennis more throughout the school year and realized he was a good but misunderstood kid who had a rough home life. 

That same year, Dennis guardian bought him a ticket to Spain so he could have a small vacation. It seemed weird to me a parent would let their child go to Spain alone. I told him to be careful and cautious about this trip. After Dennis left on the trip, I didn't hear from him for months. A few months later, Dennis reached out to me and told me his guardian had bought him a round trip ticket to Spain but once he got there the guardian had cancelled the flight back to Miami stating she no longer wanted to take care of him. He was left alone in Spain at the age of 15 to fend for himself. The guardian told him she knew he had some family in Spain, to just go find them.  With no money for food or shelter, he was scared and had no idea what to do.

For weeks, I tried to call the embassy, child services, every government agency to help him out. Apparently because he was in another country, regardless of the fact he is a US citizen, there was nothing anyone could do.  He was stuck in Spain. 

Dennis was able to find a family member. The family member could also not take care of him but at least provided him with a bed to sleep in. Dennis had to drop out of high school to work jobs so he could feed himself and help out the family member who gave him a place to sleep. 

My student has finally, after 3 years of being in Spain, saved up enough money to buy a plane ticket back home. But that is all he has money for. Dennis does not have money for a place to sleep, food, or even bus money. He is coming here with $0. 

The goal of this GoFundMe is to raise enough money to cover his cost of living for two months while I can help him find a job.  His birthday is on October 23rd and it would be great if he could get this as a birthday present. 

The money will cover:
$87- is the fee GoFundMe will take from the money
$120- a bicycle so he can get to and from places and look for a job
$700x2 months= $1400- will cover rent for 2 months in an efficiency or shared room
$400x2 months= $800 will cover groceries for two months
$593 remaining money will be for essentials such as clothing, toiletries, kitchen utensils, etc. 

P.S. If you cannot help financially, you can help by donating these items:
Clothing for an 18 year old boy
Providing him a place to sleep (he can't pay rent but can help around the house or with errands)
Offering him a job
Donating food gift cards. 



 See top
  • Anonymous 
    • $9 
    • 15 d
  • Anonymous 
    • $50 
    • 1 mo
  • Anonymous 
    • $20 
    • 1 mo
  • Marie Gaskell 
    • $20 
    • 1 mo
  • Anonymous 
    • $100 
    • 1 mo
See all


Andreina Diaz 
Miami, FL
  • #1 fundraising platform

    People have raised more money on GoFundMe than anywhere else. Learn more

  • GoFundMe Guarantee

    In the rare case that something isn’t right, we will refund your donation. Learn more

  • Expert advice, 24/7

    Contact us with your questions and we’ll answer, day or night. Learn more