Main fundraiser photo

Help Olivia with orthotics & psychological testing

Donation protected
(UPDATE 2/29/24: I have adjusted the transportation/miscellaneous portion of my budget due to unforeseen circumstances and increased the total fundraising goal by $200. See funds breakdown below!)

Why I'm Here
I'm seeking help with my medical care. I'm asking for $2700 to help cover custom orthotic ankle braces, psychological assessments, appointment transportation, and any unexpected medical costs associated with said treatments.

About Me
Hello, everyone! My name is Olivia, but my friends also know me as Odo, Liv, and RipUpTheEnding. I'm originally from the Space Coast of Florida, but I currently live near Fort Worth, Texas, with my husband, Carl, and our two animals, Noveria (dog) and Mr. Knight (cat). I'm a graduate student working towards an MS in Clinical Mental Health Counseling, specializing in Trauma and Crisis Counseling and Marriage, Couple, and Family Counseling.

In early 2023, I completed all academic requirements for my degree with a 4.0 GPA, leaving only practicum and internship (1 & 2) between me and graduation. Or so I thought... Because I am also disabled with multiple chronic illnesses, for which I've spent decades unsuccessfully searching for answers and help. My mental and physical health were at an all-time low, and I was in no state to pursue or work an internship. My only option was to go on a Medical Leave of Absence and put all my energy into improving my health and well-being.

In mid-2023, I was diagnosed with Fibromyalgia and Scoliosis. Then, in December, after more than 20 years of debilitating symptoms and dismissal by doctors, I was diagnosed with Hypermobile Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome (hEDS), a genetic connective tissue disorder with multisystem involvement.

Now that I finally know more about what's going on with my body, I can get appropriate medical treatment. I'm currently in hypermobile-aware physical therapy, but that's only the first step. The next two steps in my treatment plan are custom orthotic ankle braces and psychological assessments for Autism, ADHD, and PTSD. But as we all know, medical care is not cheap.

I'm currently unable to work, and my husband works a physically demanding job with extended hours to support us both. I am so incredibly grateful for his love, support, and care during my time of need, but as he's only one person, we live paycheck to paycheck. Last year, when medical debt grew, we even had to file for Chapter 7 Bankruptcy. As such, we are currently unable to afford my treatments, even with insurance.

After insurance, our approximate financial obligations are as follows:
1: $800: psychological assessments
2: $1300: custom orthotic ankle braces
3: $600: transportation to out-of-town appointments (UPDATE 2/29/24: includes ~$200 for two tires due to unrepairable flat) and any unexpected medical costs associated with the above treatments.

These treatments will help improve my stability, mobility, independence, and mental health, allowing me to return to school, graduate, and then help others. Thank you to everyone who donates and shares. We appreciate you more than you know <3
Donate

Donations 

  • Michael Davis
    • $100 
    • 3 mos
  • Angela Terry
    • $50 
    • 3 mos
  • Laura McGuire
    • $50 
    • 3 mos
  • Tonya Backes
    • $100 
    • 3 mos
  • Anonymous
    • $20 
    • 3 mos
Donate

Organizer

Liv M
Organizer
Burleson, TX

Your easy, powerful, and trusted home for help

  • Easy

    Donate quickly and easily

  • Powerful

    Send help right to the people and causes you care about

  • Trusted

    Your donation is protected by the GoFundMe Giving Guarantee