help a black femme find safe housing

Hi, im ashley a 20 year old black queer femme in need of help to move out of a toxic environment ! I had initially left my home 2 years ago or so due to extreme mental and emotional abuse i experienced at home. I’ve been in positions where my birth mother has stolen hundreds of dollars from me on multiple recent occasions even while not actively living with her, both of my adoptive guardians (whom i currently live with and have lived with on and off for the past 5 years) verbally abusing me to the point of running away on many occasions and upon adopting me i’ve been providing for myself completely. Even though i did move out about 2 years ago, due to covid and being a  full time student i was forced back into my family’s home where i’ve been providing completely for myself and working full time as an essential worker.  Unfortunately it’s gotten to a point where i no longer feel safe in my toxic household and i’m in a position where i need to leave as soon as possible. I’m unable to move in with my birth mother due to her being extremely physically abusive (which is why i was adopted to begin with) so i’m in a position where i now have to live on my own, all money will go towards travel and apartment funds, any help is greatly appreciated!


 See top
  • Jesse Harris-Braun 
    • $100 
    • 1 d
  • eris reed 
    • $20 
    • 2 d
  • Anonymous 
    • $100 
    • 3 d
  • Anonymous 
    • $16 
    • 4 d
  • Anonymous 
    • $5 
    • 5 d
See all


Ashley Descartes 
Painted Post, NY
  • #1 fundraising platform

    People have raised more money on GoFundMe than anywhere else. Learn more

  • GoFundMe Guarantee

    In the rare case that something isn’t right, we will refund your donation. Learn more

  • Expert advice, 24/7

    Contact us with your questions and we’ll answer, day or night. Learn more