Emergency Moving Fund

I am Otter Jung-Allen, a transgender teenager attempting to leave my second unsafe home situation in the past two months. I am from Philly, but live in Santa Cruz, CA at the moment. I work odd jobs and earn side money doing art commissions. I left Pride in LA with BuzzFeed yesterday, only to travel back to a house in which the transphobia, verbal hostility, emotional manipulation, and physical intimidation has left me exhausted and afraid. I need to move, but I barely have enough for meals. This GoFundMe is raising funds for myself so that I am able to leave and live outside of my family.

$5000 should cover buying groceries and food (~$1000), travel expenses such as taking bus rides to work and from where I am now to my new place (~$500-$1000)  and hopefully 1-2 month's rent depending on where I am able to go (rent varies from $750-$2000 per month in different areas). I will need so much more in the coming months, but if I even reach close to this amount it will be a miracle.  I need this as soon as possible, as every day I stay here I become more afraid that the situation will escalate further. I plan to leave immediately after I have enough for a room, and hopefully earn the rest of the funds I need after I am out of this house.

If you are uncomfortable with donating, I also do art and portrait commissions. Please message my social media if you have any clarifying questions. Even $5 could help me eat tonight or cover the tail end of a moving cost. No donation is too small. Please share and give. Thank you so much for your time.

Donations ()

  • Maite Cervantes p 
    • $10 
    • 27 mos
  • Emily Naiman 
    • $12 
    • 28 mos
  • Vivian De Almeida 
    • $8 
    • 29 mos
  • Anonymous 
    • $20 
    • 30 mos
  • Lydia Jarvis 
    • $7 
    • 30 mos
See all

Organizer and beneficiary

Otter Jung-Allen 
Organizer
Santa Cruz, CA
Jennifer Ruggirello 
Beneficiary
  • #1 fundraising platform

    People have raised more money on GoFundMe than anywhere else. Learn more

  • GoFundMe Guarantee

    In the rare case that something isn’t right, we will refund your donation. Learn more

  • Expert advice, 24/7

    Contact us with your questions and we’ll answer, day or night. Learn more