First Nations Senior Wants to Return Home

7 days ago, my grandmother went into the hospital with a 'sore back', and her 'legs no longer able to hold her up' (as she put it) only for it to be determined that she is no longer able to walk. 

During such an uncertain time, it becomes even harder to face so much more uncertainty in regards to family, their health and physical comfort. 

The word that my grandmother can return to her life-long home on the Six Nations reserve has been given, as long as certain needs are met within the home. 

Now that she can no longer walk, she will require a wheelchair ramp to be built, a wheelchair will need to be rented, and other items to aid in her care from the comfort of her own home, with her husband by her side, will be needed. (Ie. Shower seat, bar, etc.) 

My grandmother, a mother of 6 boys, has always been, and continues to be the pillar of our family. During family gatherings, getting this woman to sit was a task in itself, so being that she has no choice now, will be a challange in itself. 

Giving the opportunity for my grandmother to be at home, to be comfortable, to be with her husband, being taken care of in her later years, where she has spent the majority of her life, would mean the world to our entire family. 

Please donate if you can, or just share; it all goes such a long way.

Donations

  • Systemair Community Cares Tillsonburg 
    • $100 
    • 1 mo
  • Carrie Davidson 
    • $15 
    • 1 mo
  • Michelle Trzok 
    • $20 
    • 1 mo
  • Evan Thompson 
    • $20 
    • 1 mo
  • Anonymous 
    • $25 
    • 1 mo
See all

Fundraising team (2)

Stephanie Smoke 
Organizer
Raised $220 from 3 donations
Tillsonburg, ON
Jessica Smoke 
Team member
Raised $15 from 1 donation
  • #1 fundraising platform

    More people start fundraisers on GoFundMe than on any other platform. Learn more

  • GoFundMe Guarantee

    In the rare case something isn’t right, we will work with you to determine if misuse occurred. Learn more

  • Expert advice, 24/7

    Contact us with your questions and we’ll answer, day or night. Learn more