Brian Huber - Sparks in the Afterglow album

A decade since my last album, “Sparks in the Afterglow” follows my journey into marriage and parenthood through rock and electropop songs in a two-part album.

In ”The Flood,” I write about my wife’s battle with breast cancer and the emotional toll it took on our family. When faced with a disease like cancer, you get a front row seat into your own mortality. Life becomes so much more cherished when you realize how little time we truly have in this world.  We are so grateful she beat cancer, but we know others are still in the fight. Part of the proceeds from my album will go to the Breast Cancer Research Foundation (BCRF).

”Become My Heart” is about my son’s diagnosis of autism spectrum disorder. As a parent, a part of you mourns when you hear about your child’s disability. You grieve that their future is more uncertain, but you also cherish all their extraordinary abilities. My son is gifted in so many ways. In fact, my album cover is a photograph he took. At only age five, he is full of promise and this is for him.

I also write about the immense joys in my life.

“New Year’s Tonight” is a tribute to those bangers from the late 70s and early 80s about a spur of the moment jaunt to Times Square with your special someone to ring in the New Year.

“Come What May” and “Traveling Light” talk about our path in the world, what really matters and to stop and marvel in it.

And finally ”See You Soon” is dedicated to my future son. I feel so blessed to be expecting another child. As a parent, this song celebrates the privilege of being a father. It even has a secret code written into the melodies!

John Lennon said, “Life is what happens to you when you’re busy making other plans.” All of this “life” that has happened made me realize how beautiful it is and how badly I wanted to write and record more songs.

But I need your help to get to the finish line by this Summer. I’ve enlisted the amazing talents of Grammy-winning producer/engineer John Paterno (Robbie Williams, The Thrills, Bonnie Raitt, Tim McGraw & Badly Drawn Boy) for mixing and mastering and help these songs reach their full potential. And he’s done an amazing job so far!

Twelve songs into two halves: Sparks and Afterglow; “Sparks” are catchy rock tunes ranging from alt country, psychedelic to powerpop. “Afterglow” is an unexpected collection of electropop and EDM, both celebratory (“New Year’s Tonight") and meditative (“Traveling Light”). As a bonus, there’s a rock cover of Rihanna’s “Diamonds.”

I can’t wait for you to hear these songs and I hope together we can make that happen. Your help would mean so much in making these personal songs come to life.


1)   $10 - Receive your digital copy of the "Sparks in the Afterglow" album
2)   $25 - Digital copy + Receive your limited run CD with your name mentioned in the "Special Thanks" liner notes
3)   $50 - Digital copy + CD "Special Thanks" + Custom made "Sparks in the Afterglow" t-shirt


Brian Huber
Springfield, VA

Your easy, powerful, and trusted home for help

  • Easy

    Donate quickly and easily.

  • Powerful

    Send help right to the people and causes you care about.

  • Trusted

    Your donation is protected by the  GoFundMe Giving Guarantee.