Birdhouse 2.0

Birdhouse was born on May 1st, 2017. We are four friends who have chosen to be a family - siblings in spirit, partners, an adopted daughter. The four of us were already five months into a wild year - homelessness, neglect, mental health struggles, and abuse had affected our household, and we came together to put an end to it. Instead, we found ourselves beneath a homophobe whose targeted harassment would leave us reliving our traumas over and over again.

Nevertheless, we persisted. As our lease approaches its end, we are eagerly awaiting the chance to build a new home together, and we've found just the place. We need $7000 (first month, security deposit, and fee) to move to a new home; one whose owner is just as affirmingly queer as we are, and who won't put us in danger just for being above her.

Birdhouse is a collective of primarily queer and trans young adults. We are all in the process of building better futures - as students, as young professionals, as people who know who they are and who they want to be. This new home is a central location to two universities and two urban centers that keep the four of us employed/engaged. It is also large enough to continue our family's mission: to provide a safe haven to queer/trans folks in need, to help them get a hand up when life throws rocks their way.

If you have some to spare, please help my family continue living our dream together. It would mean the world to us all <3 Thank you.

Donations

 See top
  • Anonymous 
    • $500 
    • 35 mos
  • Leah Velleman 
    • $50 
    • 35 mos
  • lady onyx 
    • $25 
    • 37 mos
  • Anonymous 
    • $75 
    • 38 mos
  • Anonymous 
    • $255 
    • 38 mos
See all

Organizer

Avonell Leigh Cook 
Organizer
Arlington, MA
  • #1 fundraising platform

    More people start fundraisers on GoFundMe than on any other platform. Learn more

  • GoFundMe Guarantee

    In the rare case something isn’t right, we will work with you to determine if misuse occurred. Learn more

  • Expert advice, 24/7

    Contact us with your questions and we’ll answer, day or night. Learn more