Amani's Transition Fund

I am a 27 year old trans woman from the UK, hoping to raise funds for my transition. The waiting times on the NHS for transgender healthcare can be up to 5 years, just for an initial consultation. My gender dysphoria is really hard to deal with on a day to day basis, so I am hoping to transition through private health care. 

Since I was 4 years old, I knew that I was a girl trapped in a boy’s body. I was not able to articulate this, but I knew it, and kept it a secret. At 20 weeks in a mother’s womb, around 1% of babies develop a gender identity that is opposite to the body they are born with. Being born into the world this way can be very traumatic, especially when strict gender roles are placed on you from an early age.

Because of homophobic and transphobic bullying I experienced from the age of 5 to 16, I tried my best to act like the body I was born into. I changed my walk, the way I talked, and tried my utmost best to act like a man. I just wanted to fit in and be accepted. This drove me into a deep depression, which was really difficult to get out of.

Through therapy I have been able to reconnect with the truth in myself, to rekindle my spirit. I am proud of all I have had to overcome to reach this point where I can embrace myself, my true self. I have finally been able to feel happiness.

The funds raised would help with the two surgeries I need as part of my transition (Facial Feminisation Surgery and Gender Reassignment Surgery). The funds would also help me with hormone replacement therapy, and general therapy.

Thank you so much for reading, even a small donation is really appreciated. If you are not able to donate, just a ‘share’ would be appreciated too. I’m so happy to finally be able to be myself, thank you for helping me on my journey.

Love and light

Amani
  • Sheona Thomson 
    • £10 
    • 1 d
  • Anonymous 
    • £60 
    • 6 d
  • Sadie Hill 
    • £100 
    • 18 d
  • Natalie Steinhouse 
    • £150 
    • 21 d
  • Julie Koeie 
    • £20 
    • 1 mo
See all

Organizer

Amani G 
Organizer
London, UK