Help Moon with Her Transition

About Me:
Hi, my name is Moon. I'm a trans woman of color living in Brooklyn. I'm currently enrolled in school and work at a restaurant full time. And I need your help in raising the last bit of my surery funds.

My Story:
I've known myself to be a woman since I was just a child, and I began my transition at the age of fifteen with the help of my family. I've always had a specific set of milestones for my transition in mind, including FFS(facial feminization surgery) and body augmentation to finalize the process. 

Unfortunately in our current political and social climate, many trans women of color have no other choice but to turn to the sex industry in order to fund their transition. While I have nothing but love and understanding for my sisters who've chosen this path or have had sex work be their only option, I have kept myself from doing that by working at restaurants and local businesses. 

So I've resolved to raise the money through working long hours at many jobs. It hasn't been easy. As the daughter of an undocumented immigrant to the US I've faced a number of hardships and setbacks that have obliterated my savings and nearly torn apart my family. 

I was brought here when I was just three years old, and when ICE raided my family's business and imprisoned me and my mother in 2009 I lost all of the money I had saved for six years.

Since then I've been forced to navigate the American legal system. Losing my famiy has also meant losing a big financial support system, which has meant I've had to pay most of the expenses that have come with fighting my case on my own. This eventually led to me being homeless for a year as I tried to secure my place in the nation I've called home since I was a toddler. After a hard year living in a homeless shelter, I was granted legal residency in America, my home.

After gaining my legal residency I set out to accomplish all the goals I had in mind for myself including not only starting college but excelling in college, once again saving money for my transition through 9-5 jobs and trying to mentally recover and heal myself from the traumatic experiences that not only took my family away  from me but almost made me loose my sanity.

I've finally come to a more stable place in life where I've been able to secure housing, employment, begin college, and start to accumulate a savings again. I have saved most of the money needed to cross a few things off my list but Im not there yet. 

Why I Need Your Help:
Recently I had to quit my job because I felt uncomfortable and felt like my manager was discriminating against me after there was a lot of gossiping going around in regards to my gender. It all started 3 months ago when I felt comfortable and trusted a fellow LGBT person that happened to be my co worker. For confidnetiality reasons lets call this co woker Joe. He betrayed my trust and told my employer who gossips about everything and everyone. 

As soon as I heard word from another coworker (lets call this coworker Chelsea) that my manager (lets call my manager Natasha) was going around telling other people I started to feel uncomfortable to the point that I was scared that I would be assalted any day I would go in to work by fellow co workers or patrons. 

I also felt betrayed and hurt that a gay man thats part of the LGBT community would risk putting me in harms way.

Ive had incidents at work where guys, 10 times bigger than me,  have cornered me and and verbally harrassed me.

It just got to the point of anxiety that every day I felt like I was going to have a heart attack before work. I had to leave my job for my health.

This is where you come in. Because of my early departure and having shifts taken away because of being trans, as I presume I was not able to raise the adequte funds for the last bit of my surgery fund which includes recovery and makign sure I heal properly.  
Since I am opting to have safer procedures done its also costing me more money than say going to a pumping party to get my body worked on. http://www.tsroadmap.com/physical/silicone/ 

What Your Donations Will Go Towards:
I've saved most of the money for these surgeries on my own. But I need your help to fund the last bit that includes medicine, food, and lodging as I recover. 1000 Will go towards lodging, 500 will towards food and 500 will go towards medicine and any medical supplies I need. 

Why Im Getting Surgeries: 
I have a constant fear that I'm not "passing" (passing as a  cis woman while out in public). I'm triggered constantly when I go running errands, when I'm at work, or simply when I'm with friends to the point that I dont enjoy living at times due to the anxiety and fear of being harrased or possibly "read".  Feeling as though my body is in opposition against me has affected every level and facet of my life - from my sense of self worth to my interpersonal relationships and my ability to achieve my goals.

Because Im always scared of being ridiculed, like I was when I was growing up, I have stopped myself from reaching my dreams of being a dancer/actress. I want to move on with my life and go on to accomplish so much more for myself and my community. 

Besides just the dysphoria I experience feeling that my appearance doesn't match who I am inside, It's also no secret that trans women of color are targets for violence. For the first two months of this year a trans woman has been murdered every twenty nine hours (http://planettransgender.com/trans-people-ban-together-and-ask-can-you-stop-killing-us-for-one-week/).
  • Alexis Martin 
    • $25 
    • 72 mos
  • Joel Jackson 
    • $120 
    • 72 mos
  • Mike Caudo 
    • $20 
    • 72 mos
  • Natalie Lerner 
    • $75 
    • 72 mos
  • Anonymous 
    • $50 
    • 72 mos
See all

Organizer

Moon Rivers 
Organizer
Brooklyn, NY
  • #1 fundraising platform

    More people start fundraisers on GoFundMe than on any other platform. Learn more

  • GoFundMe Guarantee

    In the rare case something isn’t right, we will work with you to determine if misuse occurred. Learn more

  • Expert advice, 24/7

    Contact us with your questions and we’ll answer, day or night. Learn more