Needs assistance with GRS recovery

I am a Latina and proud female of Transgender experience, Currently working for a national nonprofit organization trying to raise money to help with my recovery process for Gender affirming surgery.

1119445_1542692413759962_r.jpeg

MY LIFE STORY

I'm a Philly girl, born in the Bronx and raised in North Philadelphia. I'm a proud trans-Latina woman, who prides herself in helping my community, day in and day out.
I work as the Transgender Education & Advocacy Coordinator for the ACLU of Pennsylvania and working to achieve Transgender liberation across the wonderful state of Pennsylvania. I have 7 years experience providing direct service to Transgender individuals and educating around Transgender competency and sensitivity. I work long days and nights providing support, speaking on panels and as I said before educating the general population of our community and the need for support and inclusive practices. I Love connecting my trans brother/sisters and peers who are in crisis connect to resources. I also love to cook, dance, spend time with my friends, and cuddle with my adorable pit bulls Rico & Nettie my jack Russell Nena, and oh yeah my fluffy cat Angel.

About My Transition:

I expressed to my family my battle with my gender identity when I was 9 years old and was able to blossom when I was 15 with getting through counseling and receiving my family full support I didn't have their 100% understanding of what I was going through and neither did I know but I knew things didn't add up. Through tough times they seem to be able to support a teenage trans girl.

17 years later, I'm proud to share that my family and friends understand, respect/ support my goals and ambitions to serve my community and to be the best WOMAN I can be also standing beside me as I fight to be complete.

I started my medical transition about 17 years ago, and have been paying for my hormones out of pocket for the first 11 years because insurances did not honor or cover trans related care. Now we are in a new day and thanks to our previous President (Barack Obama) there has been policy and guidelines put in place so that Transgender related care should be considered. I have been battling with my health insurance for the past 2 years to have them consider approving my Affirmation surgery without any luck.

Feeling free and having body liberation!

Pursuing my Gender Correctional Surgery is a goal that has seemed out of reach for me, as a trans-Latina woman struggling to get by for so many years. My story isn't different than so many of my trans sisters of color in Philly (sex work, lack of access to education, unstable housing, incarceration, violence). I feel lucky to have accomplished so many of my goals (a full-time job, education, stable housing) while facing so much stigma and discrimination just for being who I am.

I am now within a few months of my surgery date January 17th, 2019 and I now have insurance that has considered my Gender affirming surgery but there will be some costs that I can't afford. 

You can help me achieve this goal.
Please consider donating whatever you can.

I'm asking my community to help me raise $10,000 and this going to cover the cost of my Co-Pay for surgery and assist with recovery expenses.


Surgery Co-Pay:                                                                                             $2,500
Electrolysis: ( not covered by insurance )                                      $3,000
Travel Expenses: (Pre & Post surgery)                                               $500
Lodging fees: (Air BnB close to Hospital 2 weeks )                       $2,100
Basic needs: ( Food, Hygiene products)                                           $1,000+
Self-Care Necessities ( Candles, Radio etc.)                                       $500
Hospital visit Post surgery Travel expense                                      $200







Please understand that I know this is a huge expense, and I appreciate any Kind heart support.

Donations

  • Emily Meo 
    • $25 
    • 15 mos
  • Vanessa Stine 
    • $50 
    • 17 mos
  • Anonymous 
    • $75 
    • 17 mos
  • Molly Tack-Hooper 
    • $50 
    • 18 mos
  • Mary Catherine Roper 
    • $200 
    • 18 mos
See all

Organizer

Ariana Sanchez 
Organizer
Philadelphia, PA
  • #1 fundraising platform

    People have raised more money on GoFundMe than anywhere else. Learn more

  • GoFundMe Guarantee

    In the rare case that something isn’t right, we will refund your donation. Learn more

  • Expert advice, 24/7

    Contact us with your questions and we’ll answer, day or night. Learn more