Tara & Doug Robertson #YMMFire

Tara and Doug and the kids fled Fort McMurray with only the clothes on their backs. The fire has taken over the town. They need money for food and a place to stay and some clothes for them and the 3 kids. 

They made it to Wapasu Creek in the middle of the night (Tuesday), a normal 2 hour journey took them 12.

They stayed in dorm-like accommodations, thanks to the oil workers who gave up their rooms for all of the families who arrived throughout the night.

Update May 5/16: They were flown to Edmonton, leaving their vehicle behind. They arrived in #YEG at 6pm local time.

Tara was interviwed about their harrowing escape on Tuesday, if you were wondering why they didn't take more than the clothes on their backs, you can read about it here: http://thewalrus.ca/escape-from-fort-mac/#.VyuBnlxjVP0 



I have been friends with Tara and Doug for almost a decade, Tara is a WAHM and Doug works for a trucking company. They moved to Fort McMurray last year for a fresh start after being laid off as pastors of a small church in northern Ontario. That was a big change for them and for their kids. Their oldest was diagnosed with high-functioning Autism and ODD/ADHD. 

Some are saying it could be a couple weeks before they can go back into town to see how their house faired. 

I created my first gofundme profile in 2013, I don't know why it's saying I created this for Tara back then. Does anyone know how to fix that?

Donations

  • Lois Reid 
    • $150 
    • 49 mos
  • Anonymous 
    • $100 
    • 49 mos
  • Kathy Lamothe 
    • $50 
    • 49 mos
  • Amanda Gobatto 
    • $25 
    • 49 mos
  • Anonymous 
    • $100 
    • 50 mos
See all

Organizer

Shannon Mischuk 
Organizer
Fort McMurray Outer Central, AB
  • #1 fundraising platform

    People have raised more money on GoFundMe than anywhere else. Learn more

  • GoFundMe Guarantee

    In the rare case that something isn’t right, we will refund your donation. Learn more

  • Expert advice, 24/7

    Contact us with your questions and we’ll answer, day or night. Learn more