A very small house in the country

As many of you may know, we have been struggling for the last couple of years with ill health and not enough work.
Now we have a semblance of security with Le French Chef being on DSP and with some secure and supported work. But this is at risk because of our ongoing instability for housing.
Our plan is to buy a place in the country. Our house, a very small house, in the country. This would give us security (rather than renting here in Melbourne on a pension which just leads down down down) and would bring back some independence to our lives, which has been lacking as we have spiralled further down. It also means we won't have to rehome all the animals, which as you might imagine would be incredibly hard.
We need help with the deposit. We plan to sell quite a lot of our things, including downsizing the car, but we will still need help.
What can we offer? A beautiful homestay in the country (somewhere!), with chickens, a country dog (Bella!) and country cats. An old-fashioned organic garden. Possibly even 'glamping'! Well-appointed rooms with Australian antiques of distinction. Fresh eggs, fresh local produce cooked by a wonderful French chef. Your ears bored off with tales of local history (which I will discover) and rare plants in the garden. Access to nearby tourist sites (not yet determined!). Excellent night viewing of the stars. French music! Guitar playing! (Badly!) Retreat for writers. Cooking classes with Le Chef! Artistic garden for artistic folk to paint/photograph etc
We love Melbourne but sadly can no longer afford to live here on our small incomes, and so think we need a trip to the country to find security and stability.
Words seriously will not express how thankful we will be.
"It's like an animal farm lots of rural charm in the country"
"To see a World in a Grain of Sand
And a Heaven in a Wild Flower,
Hold Infinity in the palm of your hand
And Eternity in an hour." Blake

Donations (0)

  • Louisa Syme 
    • $30 
    • 38 mos
  • Kate Whitfield 
    • $50 
    • 38 mos
  • Laura Gibb 
    • $300 
    • 38 mos
  • Joanna Wilkinson 
    • $100 
    • 38 mos
  • Anonymous 
    • $50 
    • 38 mos
See all

Organizer

Jeanette Wall 
Organizer
Mt. Waverley, AU
  • #1 fundraising platform

    People have raised more money on GoFundMe than anywhere else. Learn more

  • GoFundMe Guarantee

    In the rare case that something isn’t right, we will refund your donation. Learn more

  • Expert advice, 24/7

    Contact us with your questions and we’ll answer, day or night. Learn more