Family in Exile

Hi everyone I am fundraising for a wonderful family of 3 - a couple and their 14 year old son. They have been living as refugees in Turkey for 7 years. It is an unfulfilled life - unable to legally work and a daily life full of discrimination. It is particularly heartbreaking that their son is bullied at school and has difficulty finding friends - only because he is not Turkish and is a refugee. His parents long to give him a better life where he can feel equal and see opportunity ahead.

The father left his home country because his beliefs - freedom of expression, freedom of religion and equality for everyone regardless of gender or sexual orientation - deeply clashed with the ruling regime. In Turkey, both he and his wife have converted to Christianity which also does not allow them to return home. 

This family has UNHCR status and only needs the funds and 5 Canadian sponsors to get them to Canada. The father is a poet and has written many books - all voicing his beliefs of equality and freedom - that echo how many Canadians feel.

He says:
“After all these years living through things good and bad, I strongly believe that as humans - regardless of the colour of our skin, our ethnicity or our religion - we should, we must and we can live together in peace and love each other without a single border separating us.”

Any donation you are able to give is greatly appreciated.
  • Anonymous 
    • $75 
    • 3 d
  • Monthly Donation Group 
    • $350 (Offline)
    • 22 d
  • Margie And Stephen Blender  
    • $50 (Offline)
    • 1 mo
  • Monthly Donation Group 
    • $350 (Offline)
    • 1 mo
  • Facebook Fundraiser 
    • $46 (Offline)
    • 1 mo
See all


Carole Ito 
Toronto, ON
  • #1 fundraising platform

    More people start fundraisers on GoFundMe than on any other platform. Learn more

  • GoFundMe Guarantee

    In the rare case something isn’t right, we will work with you to determine if misuse occurred. Learn more

  • Expert advice, 24/7

    Contact us with your questions and we’ll answer, day or night. Learn more