Josh's University Fund

My Story
My name is Joshua Stapleton - I am 18 years old and live in South Africa. My parents run an HIV/AIDS orphanage in Kwa-Zulu-Natal called Lily of the Valley . I have two younger brothers and a 4 year old adopted sister. 

I would like to follow in my father's footsteps in helping the vulnerable and weak of the world. I am fascinated by the idea of using advanced mathematics to model complex real life problems, like poverty, in order to better understand and, possibly, even solve them. This idea has been growing over the past few years as I have studied mathematics to the highest level I was able to, following the Cambridge International system of education. I achieved 4 As in Mathematics, English, Physics and Music (A levels).

In order to further pursue my studies in mathematics, I have applied to over 15 international universities and have been accepted by most of them.

The most likely option at this stage is Azusa Pacific University in LA, California, because they have offered me generous scholarships based on my academic results. I have done everything in my power to prepare for the different education system in the US - the SAT and SAT subject tests, scoring 1440/1600 for the SAT, and 770/800 for Physics as well as 780/800 for Maths II. In addition, I have been accepted into Honors College. However in order for me to pursue my studies at APU, there is still a financial shortfall of $14,780.

Why I Need Your Help
The reason that my parents are not in the position to make up this shortfall, is because we have been working as missionaries - running an under-resourced AIDS orphanage in rural Kwa-Zulu-Natal for the past 7 years (Lily of the Valley - www.lov.org.za).

I have worked hard to try and raise the outstanding amount, by applying for further scholarships and entering competitions to raise the money needed. Here is a video I entered for the Breakthrough Junior Challenge competition, to try and win funding for my tuition, reaching the top 10%:


I have also used my piano skills (I’m busy with my grade 8 exam preparation) to earn money towards this goal, by playing at my local shopping mall.

The Costs
The total cost for me to study at APU is $58,780 of which I have already received $32,000. This leaves a shortfall of $26,780.

Fortunately, as an international student I am entitled to part time work on campus, during both the term time and holidays. Conservatively, this should provide an extra $11,000 during the course of the year. In addition, I have saved $1000 by working.

I need $14,780. With your help, I can reach my goal.

What your help will mean to me
My parents, as well as my experiences at the orphanage over the past 7 years have had a profound impact on me, and have taught me that seeking only material gain is unworthy of a life’s purpose. Although at age 18, my exact course is not yet clear to me, I do know I would like to follow in my father's footsteps in looking not only after my own needs, but also the needs of others.

Timescale
In order to secure my US visa in time, I need to have raised this money by the end of May 2018.

Thank you
Thank you for reading my story. If you are able to assist me in any way to reach my goal I thank you from the bottom of my heart.

If you have any queries please do not hesitate to contact me and I will respond to all comments.

28895186_1523128[phone redacted]_funddescription

Donations

 See top
  • jennifer eldredge 
    • £500 
    • 26 mos
  • Saffy Mirghani 
    • £20 
    • 26 mos
  • Candice Parsons 
    • £20 
    • 33 mos
  • Elena Mason 
    • £5 
    • 34 mos
  • Mary Park 
    • £75 
    • 34 mos
See all

Organizer

Andrew Garlick 
Organizer
Mitcham, Greater London, United Kingdom
  • #1 fundraising platform

    More people start fundraisers on GoFundMe than on any other platform. Learn more

  • GoFundMe Guarantee

    In the rare case something isn’t right, we will work with you to determine if misuse occurred. Learn more

  • Expert advice, 24/7

    Contact us with your questions and we’ll answer, day or night. Learn more