Help Me Fund My Dream In Fencing

Hi! I am Constança Dimas, I'm 16 years old, I am Portuguese and I'm an elite athlete that loves to fence! I've been practicing since the age of 5! throughout these years I have achieved 14 National Titles and a 15th place on the Cadets European Championships 2019. I would love to keep doing my best, go further in this sport and become a bit more financially independent.  This year I will be participating in more international tournaments and costs will be a lot higher. Therefore, I would be immensely thankful if I could have your support and help through “GoFundMe”, every € 5 counts and has a lot of motivational meaning to me.  I will keep you posted on my  "Journey"!
P.S. I am also looking for Corporate Sponsorships. I will wear your Company´s Logo on my suit´s sleeve.


What are we Financing?
Money raised through “GoFundMe” will not fund the totality of my annual costs but will be a big help. This will allow me to become more independent and accountable.
Essentially through “GoFundMe”, you will be helping me finance my season 2019/2020 which is an important stepping stone for bigger and more ambitious goals. During the season of 2019/2020 I will be participating in all national tournaments for cadets, juniors, and seniors, as I have been doing for the past few years, will participate in more international tournaments, in both the Cadets and Junior’s age group. If all goes well, will be participating in the European Championships and the World Championships in the United States of America in Utah. In total, internationally, I intend to participate in 5 “Juniors” Tournaments, 12 “Cadets” tournament, and the European and World Championships in both Juniors and Cadets. Please do see the schedule of tournaments below.


Why fencing.
I could tell you about all of its technicalities, or physical and intellectual characteristics that made me choose it. However, this is a very simple story based on passion. I was 5 years old when I chose to practice Fencing, to the amazement of both my parents! In the Summer of 2008, my parents sent my sister and I to a sports summer camp in GCP in Lisbon, where we would try several sports, and fencing was one of those sports. I was captivated by fencing from day one. The coach that introduced me to the sport was a great ambassador and a great enthusiast of fencing. He is still is my Coach today!!!! Eduardo Correia, my coach, was able to see that I had potential at the age of 5 and allowed me at that early age to training.

Therefore, me choosing the sport of fencing, or fencing choosing me was a natural and happy occurrence, and it was meant to be.


My Journey. 

The results you see below are the consequence of a long journey, which, as mentioned, started when I was 5 years old. It's had its ups and downs, victories and defeats, laughter and crying, but overall it has been a great joy and a passionate adventure to be part of this sport.

For years I have been practicing long hours on a daily basis, and the tournaments schedule is very demanding. Last year alone, I have spent 22 weekends away in tournaments out of 52 weeks of the year and had to travel long hours to go to international tournaments, e.g European Championships in Sochi, Russia. I have had to balance all of this with school and tests. Going to University is a priority.

I should mention, that this journey has been done with my parents, sister, coaches and friends, school friends and fencing friends.  

It has been a long, hard but rewarding journey so far. Please do see below some of the results of my efforts.

2019
15th place European Championships in Foggia 
National Champion (Individual), Cadets (under 16 years old)
National Champion (Team), Juniors (under 19s)
Vice National Champion (Individual), (over19s)

2018
National Champion (Individual), Juniors (under 19 years old)
National Champion (Team), cadets (under 16s)
National Champion (Team), initiate (under 14s)

2017
National Champion (individual), initiate (under 14s)
National Champion (Team), initiate (under 14s)
National Champion (Team), cadets (under 16s)
National Champion (Team), Juniors (under 19s)

2016
National Champion (individual), initiate (under 14s)
National Champion (Team), initiate (under 14s)
National Champion (Team), Juniors (under 19s)
National Champion (Team), cadets (under 16s)

2015
National Champion (Team), initiate (under 14s)

41511486_1571673254100682_r.jpeg

More about Me.
I studied at a British school in Carcavelos called St Julians which gave me all the tools to reach my current status in life, and now I'm studying in a school in Cascais called Sapienti that allows me to follow the course I want to do at university and fence at the same time.

I have a great Big Sister and parents that have been totally supportive of my journey.

With having to practice a sport at a high level, I had to endure long daily training sessions and school simultaneously. However, I have been able to balance both and get good grades at school and good results in fencing. Furthermore,  my commitment to both school and fencing has given me the opportunity to develop some skills that are and will be, important in my life, like discipline, focus, perseverance, resilience and the belief that I am able to achieve my goals. 

In spite of being involved in a fighting sport, I'm a peaceful person, I respect others, I am totally against bullying in this sport, in school and life in general. I believe that one can compete and win, without being aggressive to others.

I am a Happy and peaceful 16-year-old Girl that practices fencing, has a passion for it, and has some serious goals to achieve!


The money will be essentially allocated to:

Technical material, foils, blades, body wires, suits, protection masks, chest protections, shoes, tools. Entry fees in tournaments.
Flights, insurance, transfers, and Hotels and Food.
And, if I want to achieve good results at the international tournaments it is essential that I take at least my coach with me. This is a minimum requirement. I should emphasize that at this level other athletes, and national teams, take with them several coaches, physiotherapists, psychologists, weaponsmith, etc. Nevertheless, without all of that, I placed 15th at the last Cadet European Championships.                                                                                                            

Calendar of national and International Tournaments (might be adjusted).
2019/2020
 
Sep
National Tournament

Oct
European Cadets Tournament - Bucharest
European Cadets Tournament - Samonin
National Tournament
European Cadets Tournament - Barcelona

Nov
National Tournament
European Cadets and Juniors Tournament - Moedellin
European Cadets and Juniors Tournament - Cabriers
European Cadets and Juniors - Timisoana

Dec
European Cadets and Juniors Tournament - Timisoana
European Cadets and Juniors Tournament - Tauber
European Cadets and Juniors - Udine

Jan
European Cadets and Juniors Tournament - Poznam
National Tournament
National Tournament

Feb
European Cadets and Juniors Tournament - Bocum
European Cadets and Juniors Tournament - Samumare
National Tournament
European Championships

Mar
European Championships
National Tournament

Apr
World Championships

Jun
National Tournament


Reporting.
I will be reporting on both my achievements and how the money is spent throughout the year.


Goals and Objectives.
Have as much fun as I can, achieving the best results I can, with your help!


Thank You!

Constança Dimas

41511486_1569190871973153_r.jpeg41511486_1571673489341542_r.jpeg



Donations (0)

  • Anonymous 
    • €150 
    • 18 d
  • Anonymous 
    • €75 
    • 21 d
  • J B Correia 
    • €200 
    • 1 mo
  • Gibson Family 
    • €150 
    • 1 mo
  • Mafalda Ferreira  
    • €20 
    • 1 mo
See all

Organizer

Constança Dimas 
Organizer
  • #1 fundraising platform

    People have raised more money on GoFundMe than anywhere else. Learn more

  • GoFundMe Guarantee

    In the rare case that something isn’t right, we will refund your donation. Learn more

  • Expert advice, 24/7

    Contact us with your questions and we’ll answer, day or night. Learn more