Help Dani find peace

My name is Dani and I've been roaming since I've been in my 20s, just trying to break cycles of intergenerational trauma and obtain safety for me and my (now 8 years old twin) children. I am Now 30 years old and despite having a bachelor's degree in communications and Indian Studies, and a good amount of experience in retail im still having a hard time finding employment. (Being a mom and focusing on my kids schooling takes up a majority of my time so there's not much room for professional growth, it's all i can do squeezing in time for writing or beadwork). I left my last job working at rescare Minnesota, a case management agency for intellectual and elder disabled clients as a paraprofessional, after being forcefully evicted. I could go over specifics in regards to the long tiring journey I experienced as a result of that injustice and all the factors of discrimination at play, but i think things have been made plenty clear since the George Floyd protest, the housing discrimination in Minnesota.) As a result I ended up moving in with in laws in Yuma Arizona. I've had enough time to move beyond survival mode, get my kids back on healthy routines. Its been over a year that I've been sleeping on a couch and not even having my own room. As an introvert who deals with sensory overload burn out, this is really hard , triggers my anxiety and I really just miss having space to myself. I still can't believe that it's been a year since I've really had alone time and it's no wonder it's really impacted my mental health. Despite all these obstacles im motivated to get my life back together, and doing so in a way that won't limit my social mobility or leave me relying on anyone who can take advantage of me. As a survivor who left a previously abusive relationship and is still healing from my trauma this is why it's so important i regain autonomy by being in charge of my own finances and living space. 
All my life I have never been in a position where i had control of my circumstances and i would really like to change that. 
With this gofundme i hope to raise funds for housing, a car and to pay off my private student loans with the Bank of North Dakota. Im really thankful for all my friends who helped me when i started a gofundme through the eviction and I will never forget your efforts! This time around i want the money to go to tangible outcomes versus just paying off debts and maintaining the same material conditions. 
Anybody that follows my writing can probably attest to the various stages of trauma I've endured in my life. From dealing with harmful relatives and academic/ media industries that tokenized me as a displaced Native descendant (and a grandchild of a boarding school and military survivor) to traumas in my own life I've faced with domestic violence, Ect.) I can honestly say I've endured a lot.  
 I draw much of my hardships to the fact I've spent most of my adult life actively divesting from privileges aligned with structures of white supremacy and as a result have very little to show materialistically though I've grown rich in experiences. 

I hope that those who benefit the most from systems of power like patriarchy and colonialism will open their wallets to give some reparations. Honestly every contribution helps, big or small. I hope that one day when im stable i can dedicate my energy to help maintain the mutual aid network and uplifting the social mobility of my peers as well.  Thank you for reading this far and supporting me on my life journey for safety, healing and happiness. ❤

Donations

 See top
  • Carolyn C 
    • $50 
    • 1 d
  • Anonymous 
    • $5 
    • 2 d
  • Naiman Rigby 
    • $20 
    • 2 d
  • Weston Schreiber 
    • $20 
    • 5 d
  • Anonymous 
    • $5 
    • 6 d
See all

Organizer

Danielle Miller 
Organizer
Winterhaven, CA

  • #1 fundraising platform

    People have raised more money on GoFundMe than anywhere else. Learn more

  • GoFundMe Guarantee

    In the rare case that something isn’t right, we will refund your donation. Learn more

  • Expert advice, 24/7

    Contact us with your questions and we’ll answer, day or night. Learn more