Hungry Six Homeless Foundation

Hi my name is Mardi i'm a 21 year old student who lives in the Yonge and College area in Toronto. I have always been passionate about charity work, volunteering, and fundraising money which is something I have been doing since age 8. My best friend Caroline Philips and I attended Ryerson University together in 2016 and that winter took a course called Homelessness in a Canadian Society. In this course we learned a lot about why people live on the streets, the housing issues in Toronto, and we even got to meet people who used to be homeless and turned their lives around. This past Thanks Giving, I was walking to my local grocery store to get food to make a nice thanksgiving dinner for my friends and I. It really hurt me when I saw all the homeless people on the street, alone, cold, and begging for food. I reached out to Caroline and together the two of us spent $400 on groceries ad packaging containers and got to work. We were able to give out 50 Thanks Giving dinners that night to homeless people on the streets ONLY in the Yonge and Dundas Square area! We decided that we wanted to do this every month only with a bigger group of people so we could feed more homeless people and cover more areas of Toronto! This is something near and dear to our hearts, thank you so much for your love and support. We hope to double our numbers every month and eventually be able to feed and clothe all of Toronto.

Give a meal, receive a smile.
  • Cheri Kliman 
    • $200 
    • 16 mos
  • Jarrad Williamson 
    • $200 
    • 20 mos
  • Susanne Jones 
    • $100 
    • 20 mos
  • Hal Roback 
    • $160 
    • 20 mos
  • Rose J 
    • $10 
    • 21 mos
See all

Organizer

Mardi Roback 
Organizer
Toronto, ON
  • #1 fundraising platform

    More people start fundraisers on GoFundMe than on any other platform. Learn more

  • GoFundMe Guarantee

    In the rare case something isn’t right, we will work with you to determine if misuse occurred. Learn more

  • Expert advice, 24/7

    Contact us with your questions and we’ll answer, day or night. Learn more