Rebeca Flores - Battle With Cancer

32 Year old Rebeca Flores, of Saanich, found out she had Stage 4 Colon Cancer on April 5, 2015. She had surgery to remove the tumour (April 16th) but it had already spread to her appendix, surrounding tissues & her blood. She requires at least 6 months of intense chemotherapy & the time off work to undergo treatment & to recover.

She has already gone to CTV as she was treated poorly by Service Canada; as they were denying her claim for Medical EI, stating she had a lump sum payment for a buy out from her job at Save on Foods 2 years ago; and that she did not qualify for a dime. CTV investigated a little further and asked Service Canada to review the case.

Luckily the decision was reviewed & they have allowed her a payout of $240/wk which will come shy of $980 per month. Her rent alone is $1100.

She is a single mother to 5 Year old Jordyn & they need the support from our community.

Imagine being dealt a hand like this & having the daily stresses of wondering if you will be able to stay in your home or feed your child?

No one should have to be adding the difficulty of finances,in addition to the medical appointments & daily struggles she will face.

I know Rebeca only through a friend of mine & she said to me "My daughter deserves more than I can give her right now, and as a Mom that kills me that the government is making it this hard"

If you can help; even in some small way; Rebeca & Jordyn would be forever grateful ❤️

Donations ()

  • Brooke Walker 
    • $10 
    • 21 mos
  • Kyla Dufresne 
    • $336 
    • 48 mos
  • Anonymous 
    • $10 
    • 49 mos
  • Sandrina de Finney 
    • $50 
    • 51 mos
  • Aaron Jewell 
    • $50 
    • 52 mos
See all

Organizer

Katie Jensen 
Organizer
Sooke, BC
  • #1 fundraising platform

    People have raised more money on GoFundMe than anywhere else. Learn more

  • GoFundMe Guarantee

    In the rare case that something isn’t right, we will refund your donation. Learn more

  • Expert advice, 24/7

    Contact us with your questions and we’ll answer, day or night. Learn more