Help my mom stay in her apartment

In 2009, my mother developed severe arthritis in both of her hip joints, with her left hip rapidly on its way to deteriorating to bone-on-bone osteoarthritis. This was devastating news for us, as my mom had been working cleaning houses under her own home cleaning business throughout most of my childhood. This job allowed my mom to make the money that she needed to survive and raise me on her own up until the day I moved out for college. We never had much money, but we always had enough to survive and make it through until the next paycheck.

With having done the work that she did for so many years, and her pain steadily increasing, it was inevitable that she would need replacement surgery on both of her hips. She was facing a frightening dilemma – because we lived paycheck-to-paycheck, taking time off to recover from her needed surgery would leave her unable to pay rent and unable to feed her son. This meant applying for Social Security Disability before the surgery, in early 2011. She then had her hip surgery on June 26th, 2011 where both of her hips were replaced with titanium alloy replacements.

Today, due to complications with her replacements and a later discovered allergy to one of the metals used in them, my mom suffers from Fibromyalgia, chronic pain, and chronic fatigue. She now works part-time because of her need to rest due to the medical conditions listed above. With the Social Security disability and the money that she earns doing part-time accounting work, she can live and afford her 1-bedroom apartment.

She has recently been informed by the agency that she is making too much money at her part-time job and will need to lower either her hours or her wages to stay on disability, due to the earned income wage limits that are enforced. The difference here is about 500 dollars, which she needs to have each month to pay her car loan payment. She is unable to work a full 40-hour week due to her medical conditions and cannot survive on less than what she is making now with her disability supplement. My mother could, however, survive with the reduced hours and wages, and remain on disability, if her monthly car bill was not a factor.

We are asking for $4000 dollars to pay off her remaining car loan in its entirety. Without a car payment, my mom could pay her rent and survive. Thank you so much for even reading this! If you can make any sort of contribution, we thank you from the bottom of our hearts.

Donations ()

  • Nuris Hollowell 
    • $50 
    • 27 mos
  • Tanja Owens  
    • $100 
    • 27 mos
  • Little Brother 
    • $100 
    • 27 mos
  • Anonymous 
    • $100 
    • 27 mos
  • Dee Anderson 
    • $100 
    • 27 mos
See all

Organizer and beneficiary

Kyle Jackson 
Organizer
Burnsville, MN
Beverly Brown Jackson 
Beneficiary
  • #1 fundraising platform

    People have raised more money on GoFundMe than anywhere else. Learn more

  • GoFundMe Guarantee

    In the rare case that something isn’t right, we will refund your donation. Learn more

  • Expert advice, 24/7

    Contact us with your questions and we’ll answer, day or night. Learn more