Help Merlin's Mommy

Hi – I’m Merlin.  I’m a very active 10-year-old with the energy of a pup.  I love my mommy very much, and I hate to see her so sad and stressed out.  If you can help, then you get 2 PAWS UP from me and my brother Ziggy.  If you can’t help, that’s okay – just please share our link so that maybe someone else can help – you still get 2 PAWS UP.  Other than sharing the link, please pray for my mommy and us – we all really appreciate that.  I’ll let my mommy tell you what is going on from here.
27428872_15175202410_r.jpeg
Hi – I’m Sharon Rose.  The last few years have been like living on a tightrope, while juggling 10 bowling balls.  2017 was especially hard.  I am embarrassed that I need help – I am frustrated – I am being humbled by God, teaching me I cannot do it alone.  A friend said there is no shame in asking for help.  So here I am, asking for assistance from friends, family, and strangers.

In the beginning of the year, the contract I was working on came to an end.  I had worked there for close to 2 years and had been assured that I would be brought on full-time.  The software I used was really old and did not help my resume at all.  I only stayed because they were going to new software and I was going to be working with that.  After that I picked up a freelance contract that lasted about 7 months.  This was also on some older software, but it paid the bills.  Since then I have been unemployed.  My unemployment ran out the end of 2017.  I have looked high and low for a new job, either contract or full-time employee, and have yet to secure a position.  I get interviews, and interview well – but then I lose out in the end to a younger person who has more current software than I do.   I know I could have tried harder - you can always try harder.  But I have done the best that I was capable of at the time.

I am working to change that.  I have access to online training courses and I am using them to at least become familiar with the latest software.  So far that has not turned into a position, but I am being encouraged by recruiters that I am on the right path and should keep learning and looking.  The courses I have looked at have helped put multiple possibilities in front of me.  I have also been looking at non-IT positions – something to bring money in until I get back to software work.  I cannot go back to retail or warehouse work.  Doing those things created a 95% tear in my rotator cuff and I have been advised by my physical therapist to pursue other work.  I have never worked an office position and my typing speed is maybe 25 words a minute.  This makes it difficult for me to get considered for most clerical/ office positions.  I keep looking and applying, but nothing has come of it up to this point.

My daughter is also looking for work.  She is 19 and has never had a real job.  She also has a problem that prevents her from doing retail / warehouse work.  She broke both leg bones at the ankle, requiring over a year's recovery.  While she can walk and stand reasonably okay - being on her feet for more than 2 or 3 hours makes her ankle so stiff that she can barely stand up and walk the next morning.  So she is looking at office positions.  She and I have also re-started a gourmet chocolates business she ran briefly in high school - one I ran when I was recently single after my divorce.  We have a large supply of chocolate, so our business costs are minimal.  We are working on marketing our chocolates in several directions.  We are pretty sure this can grow to a nice sized business with work and dedication.  We are local to the Indianapolis area, and our website is in the process of being build - but you can check us out at Kitty Cat Candies  (KittyCatCandies.wixsite.com/KCCandies)

Because I have been unemployed, I have had problems paying my bills.  The biggest bill is my rent.  This month – with the late fees that will be added – I will owe just over $920.  I also have some smaller bills that are due in the first few days of the month.  It is now the 6th of February.  In 10 days - the 16th - the apartment complex will start eviction proceeding.  The complex is part of a large rental conglomerate - so while the local office would like to help me, they cannot delay the action.

In working to live month to month I have had to put off several other things.  2 of them now need more attention.  The first is needed dental work.  I have had a temporary crown since September.  It hurts now and then, but is becoming more bothersome pretty consistently.  I also need 2 more crowns and a root canal.   Each crown costs $490, and the root canal almost twice that.   I have one other tooth that is bothering me – but I don’t know what it needs yet.  The total of my dental work is around $2500 after insurance brings the cost down.  The immediate concerns are the temporary crown and the one or two other teeth that have been having pain.  The second thing is car repairs.  I drive an older car, it runs but it has some things that need to be fixed.  Our car needs around $1000 worth of work.  Several of the needed repairs are safety issues that can make driving hazardous in bad weather.  This includes:

-          Serpentine belt                 $125       Needed to happen before winter began

-          Washer fluid pump          $70         Sprays, but doesn’t even reach window

-          Tires                                      $250       Our tires have very LITTLE tread left - (a good used set)

-          Brakes                                    $??           Grabbing, and feeling 'not right' - need estimate from mechanic

-          Tune-up (old estimate)  $225       Overdue by more than a year

-          Re-attaching Mirror         $??         Hanging on by the cables that run from car into the mirror

-          Fix Car Alarm                      $80         Our car alarm goes off at random times of day/night due to damage to the driver’s door.  Our neighbors are pretty unhappy about the 2 AM wake-ups!

-          Oil change                           $50         Right now, even that is beyond what I can spend

I have talked with my mechanic.  I have been with him for a long time and I trust what he says.  He told me the car will run for quite awhile longer if I get it repaired.  It would take several additional thousand dollars to afford a newer used car that is in better condition.

My goal is $5000.  As donations are made, I will first pay my rent and start of month bills.  Second I will get a start on dental work, and third I will start getting the car fixed up. 

I appreciate any kind of help you can give.  Words of advice, prayers, or donating to help out.  Please share our GoFundMe link in your circles of influence.

Thank you for your time.

Sharon and Merlin

Donations

 See top
  • Anonymous 
    • $4,500 (Offline)
    • 39 mos
  • Marie Spero 
    • $200 
    • 39 mos
  • Sue Johnson 
    • $50 
    • 39 mos
  • Tracy Schuller 
    • $25 
    • 39 mos
  • Kathleen Schodrof 
    • $50 
    • 39 mos
See all

Organizer

Sharon Rose 
Organizer
Indianapolis, IN
  • #1 fundraising platform

    More people start fundraisers on GoFundMe than on any other platform. Learn more

  • GoFundMe Guarantee

    In the rare case something isn’t right, we will work with you to determine if misuse occurred. Learn more

  • Expert advice, 24/7

    Contact us with your questions and we’ll answer, day or night. Learn more