Help me afford GD Diagnosis/HRT/Laser!

My name is Laura, and I am a 19yr old trans woman living in Sheffield, England.

While I am out, and living full-time as a woman, with my body as-is, it is hard. Every day I have to shave my entire body so that my coarse body hair doesn't irritate my skin, and I have to shave my face every 4hrs to keep it smooth. Even once fully shaved, I have to wear a full face of makeup to hide the beard shadow, something that is both time consuming, expensive, and not even totally effective.
The breastforms I wear in order to be able to tolerate my chest cause it to overheat and come out in a rash , and with testosterone in my system, my mood fluctuates horribly. And what's worst is that every night as I go to bed I have to strip away all my coping mechanisms to reveal a undeniably male body, which is soul-destroying.

I have applied for the NHS GIC waiting list, but my first appointment is still nearly a year away, and the first possible appoinment in which I could be prescribed hormone treatments/allocated laser hair removal at least another year further away. During that time I have two years of uni, one of which being a placement year where I will be working in an environment which may not be easy to be in as a pre-everything trans woman who needs frequent breaks to shave and has crippling dysphoria distracting her. I'm not sure I can last that long, to be frank, so going private is the only option.

Which brings me to the reason for this gofundme- I cannot possibly afford this out of my own pocket.

I'm never going to see any support from my (relatively wealthy, but completely unsupportive parents, who if I'm honest may even disown me if they find out I'm attempting to finance medically transitioning) and with my circumstances being a uni student doing a very intensive course (automotive engineering) and having both Asperger's, social anxiety and the requirement for frequent breaks, finding a suitable part-time job is proving fruitless. As much as this sounds like a sob story, I'm getting desperate, and this is quickly becoming the only option left to alleviate my dysphoria.

I have calculated that an amount of £2000 should be sufficient for me to make some progress in going private. This consists of:

— £500 for two GenderCare/YourGP appointments (≈£250 each), covering (hopefully) a gender dysphoria diagnosis and HRT prescription..

— £1440 for 8 laser hair removal sessions (at £180 each) at a clinic in Sheffield

— £60 extra to cover cost miscalculations/some travel costs (seeing as Gendercare's in London, and YourGP's in Edinburgh, both some distance from Sheffield)


My aim is to be able to afford this by at least this time next year, and I hope this is acheivable.

Donations (0)

  • Julia McGhee 
    • £50 
    • 2 d
  • Anonymous 
    • £10 
    • 3 d
  • Mari Thomas 
    • £15 
    • 4 d
  • Nicola Hodson 
    • £5 
    • 10 d
  • Sebastian Emmerson 
    • £5 
    • 26 d

Organizer 

Laura Levett 
Organizer
Sheffield, Yorkshire and the Humber, United Kingdom
  • #1 fundraising platform

    People have raised more money on GoFundMe than anywhere else. Learn more

  • GoFundMe Guarantee

    In the rare case that something isn’t right, we will refund your donation. Learn more

  • Expert advice, 24/7

    Contact us with your questions and we’ll answer, day or night. Learn more