Daughter Dreaming of Deutschland

Hey Friends & Family!

Some Background:
I'm Robert and this is my daughter Felicia. She's 27 years old and just graduated from Shimer College with her Bachelor of Science in Social Sciences on April 29, 2017. 
 She's a hard-working student-- her undergraduate course was pretty rigorous and often she would get around 40 books a semester, so she was rarely seen without a book in her hand or working on a paper.
(Yes, this is really for ONE semester! Crazy, right?)

A part of her graduation requirement involved her writing a 45 page thesis! (A- grade, if you were curious!) She's made the Dean's List at her college twice.On top of her heavy course-load (usually 15-18 credit hours), her commute to school and back was pretty hectic. We live in the West Suburbs of Chicago, and her school was located on the South Side of Chicago (35th and State). So every morning, 4x a week, she would get up around 6:30am and be on the train by 8am to make it to class on time. It was very stressful on her some times, but she pulled through to make it to her graduation (with good grades!).  

Currently:
For about a year now, Felicia has mentioned wanting to go to school in Germany. She wants to eventually earn her PhD and become a Psychologist. So earning her Masters is the next step and with how high the cost of education has become, she was worried that even if she were to get into a school here in the States, she wouldn't be able to afford it.
A few months ago, Felicia decided to really put her energy and focus into researching Germany and the programs they offer. Because of Germany's affordable education, tons of students from around the world are competing for a spot, and it is often tough to get accepted...

The Decision: University of Osnabrueck

Last Thursday-- August 24th, Felicia received an email informing her she had been accepted into the program! Her degree will be an MS in Cognitive Science. The program accepts roughly 30 graduate students and is extremely popular amongst international students. Normally the term would start in October, but Felicia would rather wait until the Summer term in April as she has been applying to jobs and scholarships to earn some money before she goes.

When Is She Leaving?
The semester starts in April and she would like to give herself a month or two to become acclimated, get necessary German bureaucratic things done, and find her new home.
The date is Set for February 18th!!

I really want her to be able to do this, she's so excited, and she's worked hard for it all summer, using the money she received for graduation to pay for applications, transcripts, her passport, and the fees from the postal services. She has been teaching herself German since April-- utilizing apps, podcasts, YouTube, music, and kid's books. She recently found a friend she talks to online to help her learn more.
We Need Your Help!
While Germany may have free education, we all know that nothing is ever completely free, so there are some semester fees she has to pay on top of living expenses. Felicia as an international student will only be allowed to work so many hours a week. Averaging about $450 per month. She's going to work while she's there as well.
Estimation of Costs:
Our goal is $6500. These are some of the rough amounts of what it will cost her, not including personal needs.

We have her plane ticket- check update!
Semester fees are around $400 per semester. ($1600 total)
Books/Study Materials will vary ~ $100-200.
Rent ~ $300-500, fees associated with renting up to $500 deposit, $50 for misc.
Mandatory Health Insurance ~ $70-100 per month.
Fees for permits, opening bank account, etc ~$175 per initial appointment.

Anything you contribute would be greatly appreciated, no matter how small the amount, and we know we have a big goal to reach...but this is more than just a couple of months abroad, this is a couple years of her life, and she needs the help to get started.  *Also remember to share, even if you cannot directly donate, shares are more than helpful*

Donations ()

  • Anonymous 
    • $500 
    • 25 mos
  • Pam Merritt 
    • $30 
    • 26 mos
  • Gary L 
    • $10 
    • 27 mos
  • Natalia Sieczka 
    • $50 
    • 29 mos
  • Harsha Pradeep 
    • $30 
    • 29 mos
See all

Organizer

Robert G. Smith 
Organizer
Clarendon Hills, IL
  • #1 fundraising platform

    People have raised more money on GoFundMe than anywhere else. Learn more

  • GoFundMe Guarantee

    In the rare case that something isn’t right, we will refund your donation. Learn more

  • Expert advice, 24/7

    Contact us with your questions and we’ll answer, day or night. Learn more