Support Samantha's Study Abroad

Hello, everyone! :)

My name is Samantha Newcomb. I am a Junior at Ball State University in Muncie, IN. pursuing a major in Elementary Education with a concentration in Kindergarten/Primary Education.


I am beyond excited to announce that I have recently been accepted into the EDEL-O (Elementary Education Overseas) study abroad program, which provides me with the opportunity to study, teach, and travel with other Ball State students and professors abroad in England this summer!!! I will be living and studying at Keele University for 6 weeks (May 19th – June 30th) and I plan to backpack through Europe for a week once the program commences.


This exceptional program has given prospective teachers at Ball State the chance to explore the relationship between education and culture since 1972, and I am so incredibly blessed that I now have the opportunity to embark on this irreplaceable journey that will help me to grow as a student, educator, and young woman.


As many of you know, I am a very goal-oriented, hard-working, and determined person. I strongly believe that this program will help me to exceed in my academic, professional, and personal goals and expectations I have set for myself.

Academically, this program will help me to reach my goals of student teaching and graduating a semester early (Fall 2018). I will earn 9 credit hours with concentrated studies in curriculum development, instructional strategies, assessment techniques, culturally relevant pedagogy, reading methods, and organizational structures. In addition to learning the content of these courses, I will have the chance to implement these specific practices through practical teaching experiences with children in a local British primary school. While in England, I will receive almost double the hours in the classroom with children than I would in a regular course on campus at Ball State. I believe that hands-on, real-life experiences are the most authentic ways to learn and grow, especially in the teaching profession, and this program provides me with just that!

Professionally, this program will provide me with the experiences to achieve my goal of enhancing my marketability in future teaching endeavors. This experience will speak to my ability to take risks, adapt to change, collaborate with colleagues, and effectively teach children from diverse racial, ethnic, linguistic, economic, and cultural backgrounds. Overall, it will set me apart as a teaching candidate in the near future.

Personally, this program will allow me to find a sense of true self and independence. 21 is a confusing, exciting, and defining age. It is full of questions and uncertainty, yet so many life-changing decisions are constantly being made. I believe that this experience will positively guide me through this next chapter of my life, shaping me into the person that I am truly meant to be.


Friends and Family: This is where I am in need of your support! 

The cost of the program, plus tuition for the three courses (9 credits) adds up to about $7000. While the program covers accommodations, group trips, and meals, there are other miscellaneous costs not included such as airfare, passport fees, and weekend/extended traveling (meals, accommodations, transportation, and excursion costs), which I have estimated around $3000. So I am looking at a grand total of $10,000. My goal is to come up with half of this amount on my own by this summer, and my challenge to you all is to help me out by matching that same goal!


I have applied for 16 scholarships (and counting) and I am currently awaiting news as to whether or not I will be able to receive financial aid during the summer. I am a great saver, but taking a full course load of 18 hours this semester means cutting down my hours at Target so that I can focus on school – my true full-time job!

If you would like to support me financially on this journey, I graciously ask for your appreciated donations.

If you do not feel called to donate, I am open to any kind of odd jobs – whether that be babysitting, pet-sitting, house-sitting, cleaning, organizing, cooking, grocery shopping, providing transportation, or anything else you can think of! Since I have cut down my hours at work, my weekends are flexible depending on my schoolwork load that week. Please feel free to direct message me on Facebook, email, call, or shoot me a text!

If these are not options for you, please, do not feel pressured! Your thoughts and prayers for my journey would be equally appreciated :)

I would like to thank you all for taking the time to read this, and I truly appreciate your consideration in supporting me through this exciting journey!!!


Or should I say, "Cheers!” ;)



** Please feel free to forward and share this info :) I'd really appreciate it!






                       

 

Donations

  • Jane Snyder  
    • $100 
    • 35 mos
  • Karen Mangia 
    • $3,000 
    • 37 mos
  • Elizabeth Bush 
    • $50 
    • 38 mos
  • Trisden Odle 
    • $10 
    • 39 mos
  • Laura Chastain 
    • $50 
    • 39 mos
See all

Organizer

Samantha Newcomb 
Organizer
Noblesville, IN
  • #1 fundraising platform

    More people start fundraisers on GoFundMe than on any other platform. Learn more

  • GoFundMe Guarantee

    In the rare case something isn’t right, we will work with you to determine if misuse occurred. Learn more

  • Expert advice, 24/7

    Contact us with your questions and we’ll answer, day or night. Learn more