Medical Student Support

I have chosen to pursue a career in medicine as it has always been a great passion of mine working within the community. My dad always says “I don’t care what you do in life as long as you’re the best at it.” I’ve kept this in mind throughout my life and hold onto it strongly as I strive to be the best Indigenous Female Doctor that I can be. I have been brought up within a family who has a great sense of community and belonging and I wish to continue this attribute within my life through my education and career. I have a great passion for all people and wish to use my medical training to help educate, promote and guide each individual in the direction of living a healthy, happy lifestyle of equal standard.

           Another drive to do medicine in my life is children, although I don’t yet have any of my own, I am the eldest of 5 and have had lots of experience with children of all ages. I wish to pursue a career in pediatrics. The unexplained love and passion I have towards all children is unimaginable. I truly hope that one day all children will have the same opportunities as each other and can grow up knowing that they are worth it and they can do anything they set their mind too. Throughout my studies so far I have already helped children aim for success in the following ways; student mentor for ASSESTS, HSLS community surf education programs, coaching indigenous and non-indigenous sporting programs. Along with this I have also helped children engage in Indigenous culture; dancing, weaving and yarning circles.

          These two aspects, children and culture, are two things I’m passionate about and I wish to focus on in my career. I believe we need to start with children in order to make a difference. I hope to work in a rural and/or remote community for a period of time to gain knowledge and provide individuals in areas of limited medical accessibility with any assistance when required. I intend to provide equal assistance to all individuals Australia wide and also provide them with skills so they too can continue to promote a healthy lifestyle within their community. Ultimately I would like to focus on the area of Indigenous women and children’s health as there are so many health issues in this field and I think its important to give back to community and what better way to do it, then doing it in a way that I love.

          I currently have no other income aside from casual work so this scholarship would allow me to focus on my studies more without so much of a burden for any financial stresses I face living independently i.e. rent, food, petrol, medical bills etc. I currently work 3 jobs to stay above water but unfortunately this jeopardises my intended study time adding more stress. I wish to commit to 9-5 each day to my study, as you would a job, but this is not the case in order to survive with work commitments. This year onwards the course is more time demanding and incorporates many extended placements. I wish to gain a positive experience from these and gain as much practical experience as possible to benefit my career. This scholarship will enable me to afford these opportunities benefiting my education. This scholarship would also allow me to delve deeper into my culture and pursue these aspirations letting me become the best Doctor I can be.

Please Note:
Kadisha and I are going to ensure that any funds in excess of her needs will go the the University to assist students in the clinical years (4 & 5) who are struggling financially.

Donations ()

  • Zaidon Al-Falahi 
    • $50 
    • 23 mos
  • Michelle Lewicki 
    • $50 
    • 24 mos
  • Elizabeth Thomas 
    • $100 
    • 24 mos
  • Sana Al-Dahash 
    • $50 
    • 24 mos
  • Carol Petrie  
    • $30 
    • 25 mos
See all

Organizer

Margaret Harris 
Organizer
Mayfield, NSW
  • #1 fundraising platform

    People have raised more money on GoFundMe than anywhere else. Learn more

  • GoFundMe Guarantee

    In the rare case that something isn’t right, we will refund your donation. Learn more

  • Expert advice, 24/7

    Contact us with your questions and we’ll answer, day or night. Learn more