The Newbury Fire Dept. Benevolent Association is seeking donations to fund the construction of a small Fire Dept. Museum on town property next to the Velie Memorial Playground, adjacent to the new fire station. Highlights of the project are as follows:
• The project will be constructed with private funds and some donated labor- no town funding.
• The building consists of a single bay garage with exterior covered porch area.
• The museum will house the department’s antique fire truck and portable fire hydrant as well as additional historic items.
• In the 1980’s and 1990’s the antique fire truck was restored with private funds and donated labor, including major time commitments by fire dept. members Jim Drewniak and Kevin Walker who passed in 2002 and 2006, respectively. Currently the fire truck is only occasionally displayed to the public, primarily on Old Home Day.
• The fully restored and operational fire engine is a 1942 Chevrolet truck with a pump and hose bed salvaged from the town of Newbury’s original 1927 fire truck (the town’s first fire engine).
• Expansive glass around the building will allow visitors to the playground and museum to easily view the antique fire truck and other exhibits inside the museum.
• Exterior display boards in the open covered porch area will provide a history of the Newbury Fire Dept. and the items displayed in the museum, as well as fire department membership recruitment information.
• Tours inside the museum will be available upon request and during certain designated times throughout the year.
• Building design allows for easy entrance/exit of the antique fire truck so it can participate in special events including parades.
Help us celebrate the richness of Newbury Fire Department’s history and enable community residents and visitors to view the historic gems of the department on a regular basis.
Donors making substantial gifts ($2,500 or more) will be recognized by name on a display in the museum.