Medical care for my mom

Hi, my name is Sarayah and on Friday, October 16th, my mom was admitted into the hospital after suffering a stroke. I’ve been with her since. As the 24-year-old only-child of a single-parent, I have taken on the role as primary caretaker for my 64-year-old mother to coordinate her care, rehabilitation, health-related financial obligations and more. 

While my mother is unemployed and uninsured and I am underemployed during a pandemic, I’m doing my best to make ends meet during this drastic life change. I, like many, have lost employment during this time. 

My mom has a lengthy and costly journey before her and will require a course of treatment, cardiac care and monitoring, therapy over many months and life-long medication in order to maintain her health. We anticipate that her associated care costs will change overtime, and this initial ask is meant to cover the next year based on information we have at the moment. More specifically, your generous donations will go towards:

- Her remaining hospital fee of $8,500. The hospital covered a significant portion.  

- The prescribed outpatient rehabilitation therapies. We’ve estimated approximately $9,360 for the cost of her therapies (physical, occupational and speech.) 

- Intensive follow-up appointments with a cardiologist and other specialists.

- A minimum of twice-a-week visits to an anticoagulation clinic as she adjusts to her new medications.

- The cost of various durable medical equipment, bathroom/home renovations and other accessibility needs to aid in her transition home.  

- Several medications. (Her most costly medication will be approximately $500 for her first month post-discharge given her required initial dosage. Going forward, she will only need a $500 refill of that particular medication every other month.) 

- My mom was unaccompanied when she suffered the stroke which has also resulted in a need for emergency dental care. 

- Items meant to improve her mental health during this traumatic time. 

- The cost of my travel between Texas and New York as I finish moving out of my apartment and prepare to relocate for the time being. I was already planning on moving in with my mother for the rest of the pandemic, but this unexpected medical event has complicated the cost of the move. 

While she may potentially qualify for government provided disability and medical, the process will take around 6 months at best—and only if she is approved the first time around. Most people who apply for disability must re-apply multiple times before being approved and there’s a five-month waiting period before receiving and benefits and then being eligible for medicaid. 

Your donations will also help offset some of my initial living expenses such as transportation and  groceries as her main caregiver, as I am unlikely able to work at the capacity I’d planned for in the coming year once my current job concludes. Any amount, no matter how small, donated at this moment will help.

This has been a very difficult time, however, my mom, as described by many on her care team, is bound and determined to get better, which can make all the difference. 

 I am so grateful for your support. Thank you in advance
  • Anonymous 
    • $100 
    • 10 d
  • Julie Moon 
    • $100 
    • 3 mos
  • Anonymous 
    • $20 
    • 14 mos
  • Hale McSharry 
    • $25 
    • 19 mos
  • Anonymous 
    • $100 
    • 20 mos
See all

Organizer

Sarayah W 
Organizer
Lewisville, TX