Save The Papas

Hi friends. This is my Papa. 
He is a retired 66 year old man. When he was younger he worked at JEVS where he helped mentally challenge and others get jobs, and then worked with disabled people in a group home later in life at PATH,  and now it’s time for us to give back to him. He is disabled, epileptic, wears depends, struggles to walk, does not drive, is diabetic and has hands that constantly shake, just to name a few of his ailments. 
His wife’s sister was recently up from Michigan helping take care of him and his wife (my Step Mom), Kathi. Well, on September 20th Kathi passed away. Kathi’s sister left shortly after her passing, leaving my father alone. With him living in Northeast Philadelphia and me living in Norristown, it makes it extremely hard to help him. I am not close enough to stop by daily, as I work full time and am a single mom.
My father is currently in a Physical Therapy Rehab in King of Prussia, but his insurance is only covering 20 days. They are sending him home October 15th. I have reached out to assisted living, apartments in the area and Montgomery County Aging Services but everything seems to require money or time.
Montgomery County Aging Services can take up to 3 months to have his assessment completed, and him being discharged on October 15th doesn’t give him enough time. He is also on a fixed income of $1550.00 a month and has $800.00 in his savings account.
I am asking for help to Save the Papas and bring him home to Montgomery County, with his family. He has no help or family in Northeast Philadelphia. He will be completely on his own all week, and I can try to get up on the weekends, but that is also hard because I am a single mother. The money is needed for breaking his lease, getting him a new apartment (with first and last months rent and a security deposit)  and hiring  in home care until Montgomery County Aging Services can assess and help him. I would be forever grateful for any help that can be given. I know that I can’t, but WE can. We are stronger together. 

Thank you for taking the time to read this. If you can not make a monetary donation, sharing this would be amazing. 
Sincerely, 
       Karen Salamone ❤️
  • AnneMarie Pirelli 
    • $50 
    • 35 mos
  • Katrina Kelly 
    • $60 
    • 35 mos
  • DRO family  
    • $500 (Offline)
    • 35 mos
  • Brian H.  
    • $40 (Offline)
    • 36 mos
  • Barbara Horning 
    • $20 (Offline)
    • 36 mos
See all

Organizer

Karen Michelle Salamone 
Organizer
Norristown, PA
  • #1 fundraising platform

    More people start fundraisers on GoFundMe than on any other platform. Learn more

  • GoFundMe Guarantee

    In the rare case something isn’t right, we will work with you to determine if misuse occurred. Learn more

  • Expert advice, 24/7

    Contact us with your questions and we’ll answer, day or night. Learn more