Find A New Home: Laura, Paige & Rocky

Jan 24 New Update  - Good news! An agreement has been reached between legal aid and the landlord's lawyer to allow future payment in full by the 15th of each month. However, the family still needs $660 more to be paid on Feb 3 to vacate the eviction. Laura & Paige are working, but both part time incomes were delayed for health reasons. $1500 total goal or $780  more allows for $120 living expenses, including gas, food & medicine co-pays.
 
A family of three seeks to prevent eviction from their Section 8 apartment at The Loop Apartments in Denton TX.  After the original Jan 6 court date, the landlord was late to court & the judge dismissed it.  It was refiled for Feb 3.  Reduced monthly rent is $330 , and the initial dispute about the late fees is now resolved.   The $820 raised in 2019 went to satisfy a pay day loan debt taken in desperation after additional needed part time income was delayed for both adults.  Therefore, we do need to raise at least $660 more to satisfy the eviction demand. 

This family includes two adults living with disabilities and their service dog.- Mom  51 year old Laura,  19 year old daughter Paige, & six year old dog Rocky  have lived  together in their current home since May 2019.  Rocky provides invaluable support.  Both adults will work as much as they can, but car payment help, gas, ins & phones are essential. Paige, the young adult daughter, works as a Sally Beauty Supply clerk, but  she is only able to work 30 hours a week at $10 hourly due to her struggles with severe depressive disorder and generalized anxiety.  Both adults are seeking psychiatric care. Both adults can work part time on a flexible schedule, and they are using their single vehicle for jobs via Door Dash & Instacart.  Laura will do Lyft once she can afford the extra insurance required. She will attempt to work as many hours as her health will allow.  

Laura's ability to work is impacted by several medical conditions. thus her awarded disability pay. She has severe insulin dependent Type 1 diabetes (no pancreas) so much of her extra funds goes to testing supplies and specific foods to help keep her blood sugar regulated. She also needs doctor and medication co-pays for pain management, so she can continue to work her delivery jobs.  She can make enough to avoid fees by combining her benefits and income from her side jobs.

Laura says that  "I can only work on a limited basis due to diabetic neuropathy, gastroparesis, severe fibromyalgia, Reflex Sympathetic Dystrophy from waist down, left knee pending  replacement & three bulging disks at base of spine." 

For more info on these physical conditions, please see below: 

Diabetic Neuropathy: https://www.webmd.com/diabetes/diabetes-neuropathy#1 

Gastroparesis: https://www.gallbladderattack.com/blog/what-is-gastroparesis-the-mysterious-disease-explained/ 

 Fibromyalgia: https://www.webmd.com/fibromyalgia/guide/what-is-fibromyalgia#1 

Reflex Sympathetic Dystrophy or RSD: https://www.webmd. com/brain/reflex-sympathetic-dystrophy-syndrome-directory 

Rocky is an important part of the family. He provides support to both of his humans, and he is a registered Emotional Support Animal for Laura. See below for his photo and also one of Paige.

You can contact Laura (aka Denim Diva) via Facebook at 

Laura Ramsey 
Denim Diva 

Jay Rio aka Jay M Eilers is helping with the content and posting .

Jay Rio - Laura’s friend 

 Please give and share. We appreciate all your support. 

44107938_1576368391295261_r.jpeg
44107938_1576975996333492_r.jpeg

Donations

  • Anonymous 
    • $400 (Offline)
    • 6 mos
  • Anonymous 
    • $50 
    • 6 mos
  • Anonymous 
    • $10 
    • 6 mos
  • Anonymous 
    • $10 
    • 6 mos
  • Thomas Nunez 
    • $25 
    • 6 mos
See all

Organizer

Jay M Eilers 
Organizer
Denton, TX
  • #1 fundraising platform

    People have raised more money on GoFundMe than anywhere else. Learn more

  • GoFundMe Guarantee

    In the rare case that something isn’t right, we will refund your donation. Learn more

  • Expert advice, 24/7

    Contact us with your questions and we’ll answer, day or night. Learn more