Raising money for Esme and her family

My name is Ellie Stacey and I live in Westward Ho! I first noticed Esme's journey on  Facebook. 

Esme is a beautiful little girl who at just 20 months old is currently battling Childhood Leukaemia (AML). Esme was born with Congenital Heart Disease, Chronic Lung Disease and Down's Syndrome which only adds to the complications with her cancer battle.  Esme and her family live near South Molton.
54475774_1612800091483114_r.jpeg
It is clear from the regular Facebook updates that Esme is a happy little soul and a real fighter. In her short life so far, she has already beaten Chronic Lung Disease and has had major open heart surgery which has left her with  no underlying heart rate so she has a permanent  pacemaker. 

In order for Esme to receive her intensive Chemotherapy treatment, she needs to stay in Bristol with one of her parents, whilst her other parent stays at home with her brother and sisters. Having the family split up for weeks/months at a time is incredibly difficult and it has meant that many special occasions have been or will be missed. 

I reached out to Claire and when we got chatting I realised that Esme was born on my daughters due date. My daughter Ivy, actually arrived 8 days late but knowing how close in age the two girls are made everything seem even more heartbreaking. Thinking about everything Esme and her family are going through, things I can't even imagine going through myself, which I feel very fortunate about, made me want to do something to help. Ivy and Esme are yet to meet but we're very excited for the day when they finally can.

54475774_1612800233783859_r.jpeg

Which is why myself and my 20month old Ivy will be walking a mile-a-day for the next 6 weeks. We will be Walking with Esme every day she is away from her family to show we are supporting her and to raise the whole family some money.

Our hope is to raise money to allow the family to have an extra special celebration once Esme is back home for a Mothers Day/Valentines Day/Birthday extravaganza and any extra money will be given to the family to help out.  All the many hospital trips and time out of work has had a massive impact on the family financially. 

We will be sharing pictures and updates all the way through but to all those donating please understand that Ivy is 20 months old so although she will do as much as she can of the walks, there may be times when she will need to be carried or in Severe weather, she may be replaced by  Pug Puppy or her older sister Hope. 

54475774_1612800204915201_r.jpeg

Ivy will be sporting a special T-Shirt so give us a wave if you see us. Every little donation helps so please if you can spare even £1 it will be so appreciated. 

If you wanted to do your own 'Walk with Esme', feel free to collect sponsorship and add it to the total once you have completed it.

Donations

 See top
  • Anonymous 
    • £20 (Offline)
    • 6 d
  • Nursery donations  
    • £23 (Offline)
    • 24 d
  • Julie Edwards 
    • £10 
    • 24 d
  • Carl Davis 
    • £15 
    • 24 d
  • Angela Biles 
    • £25 
    • 24 d
See all

Organizer and beneficiary

Ellie Stacey 
Organizer
Westward Ho, South West England, United Kingdom
Claire Culshaw 
Beneficiary
  • #1 fundraising platform

    More people start fundraisers on GoFundMe than on any other platform. Learn more

  • GoFundMe Guarantee

    In the rare case something isn’t right, we will work with you to determine if misuse occurred. Learn more

  • Expert advice, 24/7

    Contact us with your questions and we’ll answer, day or night. Learn more