One Less Worry - Help for my Sister

I want to tell you about my younger sister, Jenny. She is 35 years old and a single mom to three beautiful daughters - Harmony is 10, Kennedy is 8, and Emily is 6. Their father lives out of state and doesn’t contribute - but this isn’t about him - it just further stresses the need here.

Jenny works a full-time job in customer service and she regularly receives positive feedback from customers she’s helped. Even though she works full-time, she still struggles to make ends meet. But this isn’t about her day-to-day struggle, either.

For a while, Jenny was suffering from migraines, blurred vision, and dizziness, so her doctor sent her to get an MRI several months ago. When she went for her follow up appointment, her doctor told her that they found a tumor. He wasn’t quite sure what it was though, so they sent her for more tests. She got another MRI, blood work, and a CAT scan. The results have been inconclusive. What her neurologist and neurosurgeon do know is that the tumor is growing and is dissolving the bone it touches, and while they don’t think it’s cancerous, it’s growth is concerning, it’s consumption of surrounding bone is concerning, and they can’t rule out cancer until a biopsy is done.

Although a date for the operation has not yet been set (she has to meet with two more specialists first), it will put Jenny out of work for up to 6 weeks. She will be able to receive short-term disability through her employer, but that will only cover a small portion of her pay and she will be missing out on commissionable sales - something she heavily relies on. For a single mom who is already struggling, knowing that you won’t have enough income for a month and a half is a big worry. On top of her regular expenses, there will be medical bills that she will need to pay. And that is what this GoFundMe page is for. To be honest, I was not sure what to set the goal amount for. I chose $600 because even an extra $100 a week for the 6 weeks she will be out would be a big help. That can help with bills, groceries, and child care. I know it won’t cover everything, but something is better than nothing.

Jenny could also use help that is not tied to monetary donations. She will need someone to help her drive her kids to school in the mornings and, on occasion, pick them up from the day care in the afternoons/evenings to bring them home while she is recovering. Additionally, if you’d like to offer assistance with helping them with their homework or bring over dinners, that would certainly be appreciated as well. If you live in the Philadelphia area and would like to volunteer your time to help, please contact me.

Thank you in advance for all your help.




Donations

 See top
  • Kevin Cohen 
    • $100 
    • 35 mos
  • Kevin Cohen 
    • $100 
    • 36 mos
  • Kevin Cohen 
    • $100 
    • 38 mos
  • Victoria Duvall 
    • $50 
    • 38 mos
  • Linda Fulmer-Gabbamonte 
    • $45 
    • 38 mos
See all

Organizer and beneficiary

Rebecca Rose Clark 
Organizer
Philadelphia, PA
Jennifer Rose 
Beneficiary
  • #1 fundraising platform

    More people start fundraisers on GoFundMe than on any other platform. Learn more

  • GoFundMe Guarantee

    In the rare case something isn’t right, we will work with you to determine if misuse occurred. Learn more

  • Expert advice, 24/7

    Contact us with your questions and we’ll answer, day or night. Learn more