MY DISABLED GIRL AND HER DADDY

This is DIANA with two of her friends. Diana has recently celebrated her 18th birthday but she has a developmental age of between 3 and 4, she has also suffered from epilepsy for most of her life for which she receives medication morning and evening. she will require care for the rest of her life. Most of the time she is laughing and smiling but her lovely behavior can change without warning and be replaced with crying or unexpected aggression. Diana understands English and French but her vocabulary is very limited.

I am Ian, Diana's father, in 2012 I was diagnosed with incurable cancer, multiple myeloma.  I was told that with treatment I could look forward to between five and eight years of reasonable quality life, I am now close to nine years since diagnosis. I typically visit the hospital twice per week, this involves a one-hundred mile journey by ambulance-car because sometimes the treatment can make me tired.  Diana has lived with her Daddy all of her life although when the cancer struck her mother left us for a healthier man and agreed to a court order that Diana could continue living with her father. I have since also re-married to Rosie who has devoted her life to helping us both through our difficult years.  We live in a very beautiful part of Central France where we are well looked after medically but as I believe that my remaining years are few I would like to spend this time giving Diana some good memories of visits to see family members,  mainly in the UK.  Not only are we restricted by the problems of the COVID Virus but as I have been unable to work for ten years the costs of travelling abroad make our project very difficult.  We have high hopes that after the winter we may be able to realise our dreams.51885770_1602651882495554_r.jpeg
51885770_1602651086560564_r.jpeg51885770_1602651158543917_r.jpeg
  • #1 fundraising platform

    People have raised more money on GoFundMe than anywhere else. Learn more

  • GoFundMe Guarantee

    In the rare case that something isn’t right, we will refund your donation. Learn more

  • Expert advice, 24/7

    Contact us with your questions and we’ll answer, day or night. Learn more