Mental Health Recovery and Debt

Hi my name is Lei and I am queer non binary fem black person.

I was bullied throughout school and was even targeted by teachers for racist hair policies (I had locks)

I am a domestic violence survivor (age 16-20)

My family did not give me the privilege of mental health support. 

I spent the whole of my 20s being a mess. Multiple suicide attempts later I was given a diagnosis of EUPD in my late 20s.

Only in my early 30s have I been able to access the therapy I need to help me cope better day to day.

Mental Health is just as disabling as a physical condition but more often over looked when it comes to support, especially financially. 

I went from working full-time to part time and now not at all. During this time my finances were obviously a bit all over the place and unfortunately I have Council tax and Overdraft arrears. 

I receive £800 a month in benefits which is just enough to pay for my bills and food. It's not enough to make a significant difference in reducing these areas. 

Furthermore I've gained weight and not been able to buy new clothes or bras. So I would like to use some of the funds raised for this which, ultimately will help my self esteem. 

Council Tax debt- £1560
Overdraft debt - £900
ADD/ADHD  assessment - £350
Clothing - £300
=£3110 (rounded up to include fees) 

Thank you all in advance for taking the time to read this xxx


  • Anonymous 
    • £5 
    • 28 d
  • Anonymous 
    • £10 
    • 1 mo
  • Sam Rich 
    • £10 
    • 2 mos
  • Anonymous 
    • £10 
    • 2 mos
  • Anonymous 
    • £10 
    • 2 mos
See all


Lei Jade 
Reading, ENG
  • #1 fundraising platform

    More people start fundraisers on GoFundMe than on any other platform. Learn more

  • GoFundMe Guarantee

    In the rare case something isn’t right, we will work with you to determine if misuse occurred. Learn more

  • Expert advice, 24/7

    Contact us with your questions and we’ll answer, day or night. Learn more