MATTY´S TOP SURGERY

Hi everyone!! I appreciate you are visiting my fundraising page!

My name is Matty Elem and I am a transgender* man. 

Sadly, this fact has negatively affected every single second of my life. I have been having a strong gender dysphoria* since my childhood. All I have ever wanted is to be able to live with the right GENDER IDENTITY, that would allow me to be my real self.

Unfortunately, I have never got a chance to go any further with a medical transition until the end of October 2018 when I started with my hormone therapy.

My next and very important step is the TOP SURGERY* as I experience a lot of body dysphoria in the area of my chest.

This surgery will make a huge positive impact on my mental health.

I have been waiting the whole time, locked in the wrong body to start to live as a real me…so after 28 years, I am here !! Ready for a new and real beginning….

You can help me to be able to live my real life by any financial support which will go directly to cover my TOP SURGERY* (Bilateral Mastectomy) and hospital fee, which is 6 900£.

The surgery is scheduled with The London Transgender Clinic at Queen Anne Street Medical Centre for March 2020.

You can donate on this website. I will be very grateful if you do!

 

*transgender = is a term that describes people whose gender identity or expression does not match the sex they were assigned at birth. 

* gender dysphoria = is a condition where a person experiences discomfort, or distress because there's a mismatch between their biological sex and gender identity. 

*top surgery= refers to a cosmetic procedure to remove the female breasts in a Female to Male transgender individual to create a natural-looking male chest.

********************************

As a child, I always thought I will wake up as the real me the another day but that never happened to me…

I lived more in my dreams and imagination than in reality. I could not properly concentrate on anything I was doing. Such as walking on the street, going shopping, introducing myself, writing an exam, swimming at my competitions or having an interview.

I constantly worried if my chest is flat enough, my voice sounds deep enough, my behaviour is men´s enough. If I can cut my hair that much, if I can wear these clothes without being judge, if I can be part of this boys team as a “boy“….

Also, certain situations required me to be a girl, a woman….

I did not know how to explain that I need to go into the female changing rooms as I did not want to say that I am a female (because I have not felt that way)…I hated to correct people who saw me as a guy, but I had to explain to them that I am not??…

Many times I had to hide and pretend that I am someone else. Explain myself, avoid certain situations and events which I wanted to be part of so much but I could not, as I was mentally someone else than physically .… I have not tried so many things that I wanted to, I have not taken any action in many ideas I had, as I wanted to be seen as me first….Simply I could never be the real me….

Some people would say I was a cool person who was living his best life…well, I was doing my best but honestly, it was extremely painful… I was growing up and did not understand why my body does not match with myself…

I learnt how to exist but I have been waiting to live….

I have been trying to achieve something before I start to live my real life as I could not find a better way.

I was busy, and it made me keep going. I thought that I have plenty of time but the time passed out and I felt worse and worse. I could not move any forward in my career and life, simply because I did not want to show to anyone the wrong me…

I realised more and more I have to been seen as my true self in regards to be able to live my life and chase my dreams!

I am originally from Czechia and I moved to the UK to get new experience, learn English and most importantly to clear my mind and figure out myself 4 years ago.

I have started my medical transition here in the UK. It is great on one side as it is everything here much more open-minded and it also allows me to gain the skills I need to. However, on the other hand, it’s not that easy for me, as all my family, friends, I have grown up with, are far away.

I am currently under the care of the amazing private transgender clinic in London until I will get access to the NHS*. I am on NHS waiting list for almost 2 years now…

At this stage, I have to cover all my medical procedures by myself. The cost of this procedure is not really cheap (6 900£) for someone who has just started his quite new life experience.

That’s the reason why I created this funding and I would like to say that I will truly appreciate every pound from anyone of you. 

Thank you one more time and also thank you for sharing!

Matty

 

*NHS =National Health Service

Please feel free to contact me. I will be pleased to provide you with more details if you wish.

Donations

  • Alina Prico 
    • £50 
    • 5 mos
  • Anonymous 
    • £25 
    • 6 mos
  • Barbora Štolková 
    • £20 
    • 6 mos
  • Stanislav Rybar 
    • £5 
    • 6 mos
  • Irys Eichlerova 
    • £20 
    • 6 mos
See all

Organizer

Matty Elem 
Organizer
Poole, South West England, United Kingdom
  • #1 fundraising platform

    People have raised more money on GoFundMe than anywhere else. Learn more

  • GoFundMe Guarantee

    In the rare case that something isn’t right, we will refund your donation. Learn more

  • Expert advice, 24/7

    Contact us with your questions and we’ll answer, day or night. Learn more